Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 12:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Wiring Switch For New Chandelier


I am adding a chandelier to a dining room and need some advice on switch wiring. The dining room currently has low voltage recessed lighting. When this room was remodeled 10 years ago we thought we might add a chandelier, so the electrician ran unterminated romex from the potential chandelier location to the switch box. I've opened up the drywall, installed a junction box, and hung and wired the chandelier at the junction box.

The issue is now with getting the wiring done in the 3 gang switch box. As of now 2 of the three switches in that box are being used:
* Switch #1: Part of 3-way circuit controlling lights in the kitchen.
* Switch #2: Single pole switch controlling low voltage lights in the dining room.

*NONE* of the unused romex in the switch box seems to have any power. (And there's lots of unused romex in this box - like 5 cables. One of them goes to the chandelier as described. I know another goes to an outside location on the chance we'd add an outdoor light. The other ones - I don't know where they go."

I'd like to use the 3rd switch location to control the new chandelier. I understand I'll need to wire the chandelier romex in series with a circuit. Can I just use one of the power wires from the other two working lights switches? If so - it seems to be getting a small amount of power. This breaker is 15 amp. Can it be increased to get more power to the switch box? Is there something else I should be looking at or doing to get this wired up?

Thanks!

Jim
Haselsmasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,521
Default

Wiring Switch For New Chandelier


If you have power at the switch location like the 2 top diagrams below.

In a 3-way configuration, if the new switch is at the location a 3-way switch "A", you can grab power...but at switch "B", there is only switched power.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring Switch For New Chandelier-2-switch-2-fans.jpg   Wiring Switch For New Chandelier-sw-sw-lite-lite.jpg   Wiring Switch For New Chandelier-power-3way-lwith-3-lites.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Wiring Dimmer Switch scubakathy84 Electrical 2 12-21-2011 10:26 PM
Simple question regarding Wall Switch wiring kebrein Electrical 6 11-25-2011 07:54 PM
Wiring an Intermatic Wall Timer in a three way switch aitutaki98 Electrical 6 07-23-2011 11:43 AM
Custom wiring a generator to a transfer switch robojoe_fl Electrical 4 06-08-2011 12:36 AM
Switch on K&T wiring - OK to pigtail? fdmillion Electrical 4 01-27-2010 09:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.