Wiring Sub-panels - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 01:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring Sub-panels


Hi All,

I just had barn built and in doing so I got a new meter w/standard 200 AMP service.

In order to provide power to the builders I elected to erect the main main w/meter on a couple pressure treated 4x4's.

Now that the barn is complete I want to run 2 sub panels. 1 for downstairs power (this is about 3 feet behind the current service panel on PT 4x4's). The 2nd panel is for the upstairs of the barn (this panel will be about 20 feet from the service panel).

Downstairs I will have 3 exterior lights and 3 interior lights and about 3-5 GFI outlets.

Upstairs I will have 5-7 outlets; 7 lights; 2 baseboard heaters AND an electric garage heater of some type (probably one of those ceiling mounted elec w/fan units 165000 BTU)

So you can see most of my draw will be coming from the upstairs panel.

First I wanted to get some folks opinions on the best way to do this.

And then, a few specific questions I had are:

1. What size wire should I use to run each subpanel's feed? 2 awg?

2. In the main panel will I have to piggy back breakers to get a sufficient amt of pwr to each sub panel?

3. What size sub panels would I need to power everything I needed off each sub panel?

4. What approach should I take when running the feed to the upstairs sub-panel? Should I put in it's own run from the main panel outside; or should I run it from the downstairs sub-panel?

Any other insight is appreciated.

TIA!

Advertisement

mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:21 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Wiring Sub-panels


Unless it's a typo, your heater is gonna be almost 48,300 watts. Your service won't handle that. Looking at your other post, the heater you want to use is 17,100 btu's. In order to get 165,000 you'll need 10 of them @ 20.9 amps each.

Advertisement


Last edited by wirenut1110; 01-04-2009 at 02:31 PM.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 03:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring Sub-panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Unless it's a typo, your heater is gonna be almost 48,300 watts. Your service won't handle that. Looking at your other post, the heater you want to use is 17,100 btu's. In order to get 165,000 you'll need 10 of them @ 20.9 amps each.
It was a typo, see my other post for elec. heater type I am looking at purchasing. <http://www.diychatroom.com/showthread.php?t=35059>
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 04:04 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Wiring Sub-panels


How far away from the barn is your service? If it's a 200 amp outdoor main breaker with feed through lugs, I'd just install a 200 amp panel in the barn and run all the branches out of that. Seem too short of runs to put 2 subs in there. Just my opinion.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 06:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring Sub-panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
How far away from the barn is your service? If it's a 200 amp outdoor main breaker with feed through lugs, I'd just install a 200 amp panel in the barn and run all the branches out of that. Seem too short of runs to put 2 subs in there. Just my opinion.
The service was run for the barn, I just stuck it on 2 - 4x4 pressure treated posts in order to get it up before the builders started the barn.

The barn is maybe 3 feet from the service.

As for "feed thru lugs" what are those? How can I tell if my service panel has these?

Thanks!
mntnvew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Where to get bathroom panels similiar to rebath? Side panels? twilightcall Remodeling 2 03-06-2008 10:19 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts