Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2011, 08:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Angry

wiring sub panel right next to main panel


I just got a new miller TIG welder and air compressor. Welder is 230v and requires a 30 amp sp breaker, the compressor is 220v and probably would use the same. I purchased a 100 amp wo load center w/ 6 spaces in it. I wanted to install 3 220v breakers in it. I'm gonna mount it to wall about 6 inches away from main panel, and have a 60 amp breaker for the main panel to power the sub. Do I run 3 or 4 wire? And do I bond the sub panels neutral bar or not? The main panel is bonded. And was going to use emt between boxes. Getting frusterated and antsey to use welder. (main panel is 100 amp) (third dp breaker in sub panel is for tablesaw) ANYONE PLEASE HELP!!!

bill423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 08:29 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring sub panel right next to main panel


must be 4wire
must be not bonded-neutral and ground bars in a sub panel must remain isolated
Emt is fine

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 08:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring sub panel right next to main panel


What exactly did u mean by isolated? And thanks so very much for your speedy reply!!! Very greatly appreciated.
bill423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 09:06 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring sub panel right next to main panel


the ground and neutral bars MUST be connected together in a main panel-MUST NOT be connected in a sub panel.

In your main panel there will be a screw or strap or the like to insure that they are bonded together, just leave it out of the sub.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 09:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring sub panel right next to main panel


Ok. That sounds good. Thanks again for your simple answers and not making it more complicated than it had to be. Only asked because of the emt connecting the subs ground to other box. Thanks.
bill423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3-4 wire, bonding screw, sub panel, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel or main panel grounding dghowery Electrical 1 10-13-2010 10:18 AM
main to sub panel conduit/wire run daddyrabbit Electrical 7 02-12-2010 08:12 PM
Sub panel wiring question mntnvew Electrical 13 03-02-2009 12:28 PM
gfci in main feeding sub panel problem scott2332 Electrical 12 02-26-2009 12:17 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 11:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.