Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2012, 01:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a sub panel? Possibly More.


Hi,

Firstly, I apologize for the length of this post.

I purchased this house that was stripped to the bone except for the wiring oddly enough and I am at that point now where I need to get this other box working.

Half the house runs on this box including the water heater etc.

I should say, I can not afford to get an electrician and I am careful enough that I won't do a repair unless I am confident I know what is going on. (damn sure can't afford to burn the place down).

This house has some wiring that seems odd to me. Not something I have run into before.

I took some pictures to help me illustrate. (and give you an overview of what I am dealing with)

The first pic is a new box outside. The odd thing in there is because that wire wasn't long enough. The Electric company's inspector approved this repair. This box obviously sits right below the meter.



From here we run underground and into the house and it comes out in this horrible display of insanity. The weird part here is I have not seen this done before and this is the source of most of my confusion with hooking up the other box. The neutrals and grounds are hooked into the same place on this box.
This box is running all the working electricity in the house. I have had no problems with it at all.




That is the end of the working electricity in the house. It runs half the house and as I said I have never had a problem with it even in some massive electrical storms.

This next box I had to disconnect when I first moved in. It scared me. Lights would flicker and dim and once when it was sprinkling (a very very light sprinkle) the electric for that part of the house just shut off. They had 100 amp wire running straight from the outside disconnect(200 amp) to it and this support cable? as a neutral wire. I think this box is grounded to the chassis of the trailer and not in the ground.
Oh this house was originally a trailer there was a massive addition to it to turn it into a house triple the size of the original trailer. (not sure why they did that if they wanted it that big).

This is a 100 amp panel which is perfect for what it will be running.



This thing was the neutral wire.


So what I am trying to figure out is given the current information what would be the best way to hook up the other panel?.
A) Wire straight to the first panel as is. (cheapest but that panel is wicked)
B) Drop a 100 amp breaker in the main disconnect outside and wire from there. (probably the safest and cleanest way I can think of) creating two different circuits.
C) put a new panel in (first one) so it has a nice main breaker and a little more room for stuff and wire it from there. (most expensive but would allow more expansion into that part of the house for new lights/etc)

With all those options how to properly ground it will be an issue. The boxes are to far inside the house that dropping grounding rods in would be a pain and the state of our soil here is heavy rock and clay. (it is very hard to get T-Posts in the ground straight)

Not sure if I left anything out. If anyone can help by all means let me know.

thank you,
Feltope


Last edited by Feltope; 06-08-2012 at 03:11 PM. Reason: Labeled something ground not neutral.
Feltope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 02:01 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,711
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Wiring a sub panel? Possibly More.


If you could resize your photos smaller it would be helpful.

The large bare wire in the red circle should be the neutral, not a grounding conductor. It should not be bare.

Any panel after the first means of disconnect should have the neutrals and ground separated and no bond screw installed. You may need to add grounding bars to some panels.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a sub panel? Possibly More.


Fixed the images and your right that was the neutral not the ground. I guess I didn't check my post good enough before posting.
Feltope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:27 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,711
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Wiring a sub panel? Possibly More.


What brand of panel is that with the red cicle in the same pic?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 04:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a sub panel? Possibly More.


not positive however the box is stamped TM1010
Feltope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help wiring a panel ex-28 Electrical 17 01-27-2012 02:51 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 10:49 AM
Sub panel wiring Djennis20 Electrical 8 09-30-2011 10:40 AM
sub panel wiring grapeman Electrical 25 09-10-2011 08:48 PM
wiring sub panel right next to main panel bill423 Electrical 4 05-14-2011 08:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.