Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2008, 11:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

wiring sub panel for pool


Hi
I`am a electrician and i`am looking for some professional help with wiring a pool sub panel.
My question is : can i run direct buriel cable to the subpanel.
and do i need to run the #8 solid with the sub feeder. thanks

sparky62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 11:20 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

wiring sub panel for pool


No you cannot run cable. Unless it is existing, a feeder to a pool panel must be in conduit ALL the way.
See NEC 680.25

What #8? The bonding grid #8?
No, this has NOTHING to do with panels or grounding.
See ALL of 680.26, particularly 680.26(A)FPN.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 04:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default

wiring sub panel for pool


Thanks very much for your help, just one more thing i do need to run a #12 ground with the feeders yes or no? you have been a great help .
i thought that it was permisable to run cable up until the point of exiting the house ,being it had a ground wraped in the outer sheath of the cable.
theres only one problem how the heck do i get pvc or other conduit thru a finished basement ,lol! i guess i`ll worry about that later .
sparky62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 05:12 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

wiring sub panel for pool


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky62 View Post
Thanks very much for your help, just one more thing i do need to run a #12 ground with the feeders yes or no? you have .
Your pulling a 20amp feeder for your pool sub-panel? Your very weak in the 680 section, I would have started with an above ground pool to get your feet wet, no pun intended.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 05:19 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

wiring sub panel for pool


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky62 View Post
just one more thing i do need to run a #12 ground with the feeders yes or no?
You must size the ground according to the feeder, but it must be insulated and not smaller than #12.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky62 View Post
i thought that it was permisable to run cable up until the point of exiting the house ,being it had a ground wraped in the outer sheath of the cable.
That applies to motor branch circuits, NOT feeders.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 07:23 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default

wiring sub panel for pool


chris you totaly don`t understand yourself , i think you need a course in reading
sparky62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 07:25 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default

wiring sub panel for pool


Thanks your the only one who understands , thats all i needed to know plain and simple! you know the reason people have trouble with the code is interpertation ,not lack of skill in the trade per se. thanks again!
sparky62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 09:22 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

wiring sub panel for pool


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky62 View Post
chris you totaly don`t understand yourself , i think you need a course in reading

Yep, i'm the bad guy. Just remember, I will answer any question you have on your job, like I have at Mike Holts site already.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring from panel Rick N. Electrical 6 07-10-2013 04:25 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.