Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 09:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring a sub panel


I am running new service to a garage. I have a 200 amp panel in the house and wish to install 100 amps in garage. I am assuming that I install a 100 amp breaker in the house and run to the garage. I have a 110 ft run of underground cable to install. I am told that I need to run 4 wire cable to the new panel. Is 2ga. 4 wire the proper cable to run? Do I need a main breaker in the sub panel or is the 100 amp in the main box sufficient? There will only be 110 volt in the garage with no major power draws, just portable tools and lighting. Any additional ingo would be appreciated.

shotout1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:40 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


If you only have 120V loads and nothing that large, why install such a large sub? You could easily get away with a 40A panel and save alot of money.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


Only because I already have a 100 amp panel that I took out of house and replaced with the 200. How about the feeder cable size? Can you help me with that?
shotout1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:03 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


You can still use the old panel and just fuse it lower.

If you have less than 7 breakers in the panel, you will not need A main disco.

I don't use AL very often, but I believe you would need #1 al or #3 cu for a full 100 amp sub.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


Wire Size Calculator Try this.

The panel you want to use...does it have a main breaker? I believe if you have a panel with more than 6 breakers you HAVE to have a main breaker in a sub panel. If that's not accurate I am sure someone will chime in with the proper info. In addition to the 4 wires there will be some grounding and neutral issues you will need to address. And you will need a couple of grounding rods at the garage. There's a lot of info available...just ask as you get closer to the project.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


I had intended to run about 21 inside outlets, 3 outdoor outlets, 6 flourescent 8' lights and 2 exterior lights total. Therefore I will have 5 outlet circuits, 4 light circuits, and 1 for the exterior lights. I am trying to get a difinitive answer on the wire guage for the feeder cable. This can be run on less than a 100 amp feed?
shotout1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:34 PM   #7
Contractor
 
Dan101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


Based on the information you provided. Yes 2ga. 4 wire will be sufficient for feeder. Just make sure it is listed for direct burial.
Dan101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


I'd suggest burying conduit rather than "just cable" And I would bury a second conduit as well, for telephone, intercom, cable tv and whatever else you want there....maybe alarm wiring. Not sure it will save you any money, but it will prevent any wiring decay from nicked wires and allow you future changes if you want or need.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 05:38 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by shotout1234 View Post
I had intended to run about 21 inside outlets, 3 outdoor outlets, 6 flourescent 8' lights and 2 exterior lights total. Therefore I will have 5 outlet circuits, 4 light circuits, and 1 for the exterior lights. I am trying to get a difinitive answer on the wire guage for the feeder cable. This can be run on less than a 100 amp feed?
4 circuits for lighting is way overkill. You may need 2 depending on the draw of the 8' lamps, but I suspect 1 lighting circuit is all you would need. The problem comes in when you go to switch 4 circuits of lighting. If you want all the lights to come on together you would need a contactor.

You will need a main disconnect.

As stated above, you will also need 2 ground rods.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:57 AM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You can still use the old panel and just fuse it lower.

If you have less than 7 breakers in the panel, you will not need A main disco.

I don't use AL very often, but I believe you would need #1 al or #3 cu for a full 100 amp sub.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Wire Size Calculator Try this.

The panel you want to use...does it have a main breaker? I believe if you have a panel with more than 6 breakers you HAVE to have a main breaker in a sub panel. If that's not accurate I am sure someone will chime in with the proper info. In addition to the 4 wires there will be some grounding and neutral issues you will need to address. And you will need a couple of grounding rods at the garage. There's a lot of info available...just ask as you get closer to the project.
Which ever way the op decides to go, the panel has to be "suitable for use as service equipment". Before the "six motions of the hand" rule can be used, the panel instructions have to be reviewed. Some MLO panels will require a main breaker w/ retention clip be installed in order to be "suitable for use as service equipment". Also, the panels listing labelling may require a main as well.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
subpanel wire longrun


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help wiring a panel ex-28 Electrical 17 01-27-2012 02:51 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 10:49 AM
wiring sub panel right next to main panel bill423 Electrical 4 05-14-2011 08:17 PM
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 09:50 AM
Sub panel wiring question mntnvew Electrical 13 03-02-2009 11:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.