Wiring Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 07:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring Sub Panel


I have a 240 volt power supply. I'm installing a 100amp sub panel. I only need 120 volts out of the panel. How do i wire the 240 volt power supply in the homelite sub panel and have 120 volts at the breakers?

Advertisement

bobkbb10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:22 PM   #2
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wiring Sub Panel


Do you understand how 120/240 works?
IMO if you need to ask such questions, perhaps you should call a pro

Maybe im just reading the question wrong. Please explain more.

Advertisement

__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MisterZ For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (08-15-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring Sub Panel


You require two hots a neutral and a ground at the new panel location.

Is the subpanel located in the same building. What size wire did you run? Need more info.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 09:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Coast, Cali
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring Sub Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobkbb10 View Post
I have a 240 volt power supply. I'm installing a 100amp sub panel. I only need 120 volts out of the panel. How do i wire the 240 volt power supply in the homelite sub panel and have 120 volts at the breakers?
The 240v supply is divided across the two phases in the sub panel, each of which measures 120v from phase to neutral. A standard single pole circuit breaker connects to only one phase and, therefore, supplies 120v.

That said, if your understanding of electricity is very basic, a sub panel is probably not the job to cut your teeth on. I would, as others have recommended, call an electrician to help you out. And I can't emphasize enough that I don't mean that as an insult I'm just concerned about ya safety wise.
LooseSCruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help wiring a panel ex-28 Electrical 17 01-27-2012 03:51 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 11:49 AM
wiring sub panel right next to main panel bill423 Electrical 4 05-14-2011 09:17 PM
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 10:50 AM
Sub panel wiring question mntnvew Electrical 13 03-02-2009 12:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts