Wiring A Stove - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2011, 12:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a stove


i hooked up a 4 wire connection to a new stove. I did not remove the copper bonding strip between the neutral wire connection and the green ground wire connection on the stove. Will this cause a problem?

Advertisement

my1job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 01:15 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring a stove


Yes, by not removing the bonding strip, you have created a ground-fault condition on the neutral conductor.

In essence, the outer frame of the appliance is now part of a current-carrying conductor.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wood Stove, and Furnace hot water system shendog HVAC 7 10-04-2010 10:30 PM
Extending Range Of Stove Electrical - bad idea? sleepysmurf Electrical 33 08-10-2010 10:30 AM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 11:33 AM
Stove top wiring teh3515 Electrical 2 04-03-2008 04:47 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts