Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2012, 11:58 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Wiring in soffit


I have a 32 ft long soffit built around an I-beam and HVAC trunk line in my basement ceiling. Construction is 2x4 on the flat side. Can I use this as a chase for my wiring? If so do I attach(and how) to the pocket inside the I-beam or can I run it along the bottom or side of the soffitt and attach there since it would be 1 1/2" thick.

Thanks,

Jeff
jeffh110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 12:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Default

Wiring in soffit


is the soffit finished or unfinished?
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 02:53 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,679
Default

Wiring in soffit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffh110 View Post
I have a 32 ft long soffit built around an I-beam and HVAC trunk line in my basement ceiling. Construction is 2x4 on the flat side. Can I use this as a chase for my wiring? If so do I attach(and how) to the pocket inside the I-beam or can I run it along the bottom or side of the soffitt and attach there since it would be 1 1/2" thick.

Thanks,

Jeff
Yes. Use the top side of the bottom framing of the soffit.

Last edited by brric; 04-13-2012 at 02:55 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
plummen (04-13-2012)
Old 04-13-2012, 03:13 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 14
Default

Wiring in soffit


Currently unfinished, will be drywalled. I assume staple to the bottom at standard 4 1/2ft spacing.

Thanks.
jeffh110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:31 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,050
Default

Wiring in soffit


I have installed short pieces of 2x in between the flanges of the beam and stapled the wires to the 2x's.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Wiring in soffit


Won't be a problem using it as a chase. No junction boxes enclosed behind drywall or any structure.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hidden Soffit Vents Mucluk Building & Construction 4 01-26-2012 08:15 AM
Ventilation - Opposing gable, limited soffit + box vents = Screwed up? darlingm Roofing/Siding 1 09-07-2011 10:13 AM
Knee wall w/ soffit vents no ridge vent -- seal soffit vents? tblaz Roofing/Siding 1 04-24-2011 04:12 PM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.