Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-24-2007, 05:52 PM   #1

Share |

Wiring sizes

We are installing a new dishwasher, and I have a quick question about how the old one was wired. I hope someone can straighten me out...

We have the breaker box in the basement. A #10 AWG wire runs from a 30a breaker to a junction box. From the junction box run 2 sets of #12 wire. One set of #12 wire powers the refrigerator. The other set powered the dishwasher.

I'm not an expert but I thought the fridge was supposed to be on a separate breaker. Should I have this checked out? Any help would be appreciated.

jimdoddery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 06:08 PM   #2
Licensed Pro

Wiring sizes

This is not correct because the two are protected by a 30A breaker, not because they are both on the same circuit. Simple solution is to replace the 30A breaker with a 20A. Better solution is to run two new circuits for each.

HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:38 PM   #3

Wiring sizes

Thank you very much for your reply. Does that mean 30A is too much? I'm not an electrician, so forgive me for asking dumb questions. I'll need to have another breaker box installed if I need 2 breakers.
Old 10-24-2007, 09:49 PM   #4

Wiring sizes

There are 2 thing wrong here.
You are not permitted to put standard receptacles on anything larger than a 20 amp circuit.
#12 wire must be protected by 20 amp or smaller breaker.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 10:44 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES

Wiring sizes