Wiring In Sips Panels - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2009, 03:26 PM   #1
R_T
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern California, Coastal
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring in sips panels


I'm looking at a rather large new construction job (10000 sqr ft residence) that will be using sips panels for exterior walls and the roof. Has anyone had experience with this type of install and would you be willing to tell me an added time difference versus romex in wood framing. Any other thoughts, tips, etc. would be welcomed.

TIA

Advertisement

R_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 03:49 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring in sips panels


depends on the experience of your electrician. Wiring is done through prepared wiring chases. It does take about 15% longer and you do get lost time, since some connections need to be made as the work of installing the panels takes place. Another thing to consider is where will all the electrical outlets be placed. As long as they all conform to where the panels have planned for them you will be fine.

Advertisement

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 04:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,723
Rewards Points: 1,266
Default

Wiring in sips panels


Search the postings on this site for more info:
http://www.greenbuildingtalk.com/For...s/Default.aspx

It looks like for exterior walls you'd have to do some fishing through prexisting channels in the panels rather than drilling and threading. You might route wires a bit differently for efficiency. Interior walls of course would be no different.

There is an interesting technique called "hot balling" for putting in vertical channels.

I didn't see anything about having to wire during panel assembly but I think Bob is a builder so he would know.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 09:44 PM   #4
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring in sips panels


This only happens when changes to the plans are made after delivery and if things are missing.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 09:43 PM
Structured Wiring Panels ctsmiths Electrical 18 02-17-2009 11:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts