Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2008, 07:03 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South of Kansas City in the country
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


OK, No 4 ways --- Must actually be a 2 pole 240V 20A switch -- and keep the light count down to no more than 9 however 8 would be best.

Will do

Thanks to all of you for the great advice, recommendations and for keeping me out of trouble. I really appreciate the help.

rlmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 07:56 PM   #32
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


If you have smaller HID's like 250 w MH then you can have more on per circuit.

It all depend on sum of the total wattage on that circuit reguarding of size of luminaires.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 11:54 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South of Kansas City in the country
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


I do have two 250w low bay lights that I plan to put in the woodshop zone if I can convert them to 240V. I'll just make certain that the total wattage of each circuit is 80% or less of the 4800W (240V x 20amp). Thanks again Marc.
rlmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 01:17 AM   #34
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


Sure No problem at all I am gald to help ya with it.

For myself when I order the HID's not all of them do have aux light in there at all for two obvous reason.,,

• cost for ballast with aux connection typically more than straight HID luminaire.

• Current useage on the circuit.

Most place with large #'s of HID luminaires I useally keep small percentage with quatz standby { aux light } on hand but spread out so it will not really load up the circuit much.

The most common methold I useally done is get a flourscent luminaire or 2 in few spots that serve few purpose

• instat start up

• do not affect the HID circuit { normally I wired this on sepreated circuit }

• some large building the flourscent luminaires can be used as nightlight or sectury luminare as well.


But useally in the resdentail large shop/ workshop/ garage space where they use the HID I throw in few flourscent luminaires as I mention before.

{ very rare I used with quatz aux lighting system in there unless specal request with it }

Hope your project come out good with it.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 05:59 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South of Kansas City in the country
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


Marc, I found a couple of HD double Pole swictches at a hardware store about 25 miles from my place. they are Pass&Seymour/Legrand Contractor preferred toggle switches they say 30A 120/277VAC the part number is PS30AC2-ICC. Doesnt say anything about 240V on the box anywhere. Would these be ok to use for the hot water heater and the light circuits?
rlmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:10 PM   #36
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


Rlmorgan.,

I did verify the catalog number and yes it is a good to go for 30 amp circuit and it is a true double pole switch.

Most of commercal/ Industrail grade switching device do have a quick indentify switch cover on the front of the switch.

Bleu - 15 amp circuits

Red - 20 amp circuits

Green - 30 amp circuit.

The voltage range is from 120 to 277 volts so it will cover the 240 volt circuit without much issue with that and I been using the 20 amp verison all the time on 277 volt circuits no issue.
( there is a specal rule for multi switches in two gang box and larger for 480Y277 system but I will leave this section out for now due it not used in this area )

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:42 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South of Kansas City in the country
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


Thanks Marc, I was hoping you would confirm that the 120/277 covered all voltages in between rather than being restricted to just those two voltages. There is no wiring diagram on the box but I figure that the black wire is wired in on a top lug and out the bottom lug located on the same side. The red is wired the same way on the other side and the ground of course is going to green lug located on bottom center.

Rick
rlmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:47 PM   #38
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


Rick.,,

Normally most I say most double pole switch format work the line go in either top or bottom screw and go out.


like this

Li 1 ------ Li2

Lo1------- Lo2

that one way or it will be other way depending on manufacter design

If you have doubt you can use the ohm meter and ring it out it will tell which way it is

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:59 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South of Kansas City in the country
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit


Ok Marc, Looks like I'm good to go so I best get to work. Thanks for all the help and advice.
Rick

rlmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 10:10 AM
Single pole with white on the switch grog Electrical 4 08-10-2008 07:56 PM
Anybody ever seen a 5A 250V single pole switch? jayp Electrical 5 08-04-2008 05:41 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.