Wiring Shop - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2010, 05:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring shop


Have a shop that had it's own meter had it taken out due to cost don't use shop alot but will need a 220 outlet. Would like to run wire from main to main a distants of 80 feet. And would like to know what size wire to run will place wire under ground in conduit if possible.

Advertisement

brandywine98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 06:10 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 774
Rewards Points: 516
Default

Wiring shop


Need more info. What kind of load will you have at the shop? Lights, welders, compressors, power tools? We need to know how much amperage you need before we can tell you what size wire to use.

Advertisement

McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 10:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Wiring shop


Search at the top of the page for "detached structures" "wire shed" ect......There is plenty information. Enough information to wire up 1000 sheds and garages.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 03:53 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring shop


The shop is just for personal use but it will be running all of these things lights, welders is a large mig, compressors 20 gal holds 200 psi, power tools. Of course I can't use all of them expect the lights at one time. The shop is 30x30 and is heated with wood heat & cooled with a window fan. It has 4 large fluorescent shop lights and it has a refrigerator. The house is small 920 square feet and has central heat and air, washer, dryer, stove, refrigerator. And thanks for getting back to me.
brandywine98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 07:07 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Wiring shop


There is still not enough info to help you yet.
We don't know the specs on the machines (especially the welder).
We don't know the size of the service in your house.

What is your experience with electrical? This is not a job for someone looking to learn how to DIY. This is s job for a seasoned DIY or pro.

IMO you should have the meter put back in. The $15 a month meter fee you pay now will take quite a few years to reach the price it is going to cost you to wire the shop from the house, which I personally doubt you will be able to do.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Shop Scrubbie Electrical 6 03-09-2010 07:23 PM
Help with new shop wiring campchair Electrical 4 01-03-2010 08:44 PM
Wiring air compressor in to shop KAdams4458 Electrical 39 09-07-2009 05:13 AM
Wiring shop need advice stqevo Electrical 14 09-03-2009 01:18 PM
Advice on basement shop wiring WoodworkerDave Electrical 4 04-05-2008 01:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts