Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2010, 10:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Wiring Shop


I have read alot of information on here and I am still confused.....I am running power to a small shop I have. I will be coming from a bigger shop that is 200 ft away and has 200amp service. All I want to do is have enough at the small shop to run a couple of overhead shop lights, 1 recepticle for small powertools, and probably a large security light outside the shop. I know I need to dig a trensh 18in and use conduit for burial. My question is what size or kind of wire do I need to get to run from the large shop to the small one? What kind of boxes do I need? I thought this would be easy, but, the more I read on here the more I get confused.

Scrubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 05:42 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Wiring Shop


I am pretty sure, and the others here can clarify, that you need a subpanel with ground rods for a detached structure. The wire you will want to use is THWN. This is rated for a wet location (buried conduit is considered a wet location).

Where will the conduit be leaving the main shop or entering the small shop? Above grade or below grade?

Before I provide some details (that I learned here) on installing a subpanel, I'll let one of the other experts post as to whether or not you have to put one in.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:26 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

Wiring Shop


A 3/4" or larger pvc would give you the best flexibility in case you want to expand your lighting capabilities or add larger power tools. However, cost wise, UF cable could easily do what you are describinng at far less cost. Depending on how far away the shop is (voltage drop) 12/3 OR 10/3 wg will probably give you more than enough power.

While you have a trench open you might want to drop some direct burial telephone cable in just in case.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:56 AM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,887
Default

Wiring Shop


If youve got 200' between buildings id run it in 2" pvc myself,leaves you plenty of room for updating later and is a whole lot easier to pull wires through.and becides pvc is cheap
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 07:01 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

Wiring Shop


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
If youve got 200' between buildings id run it in 2" pvc myself,leaves you plenty of room for updating later and is a whole lot easier to pull wires through.and becides pvc is cheap

I agree. I missed the 200' part of the post.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 07:37 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Wiring Shop


I'd run #6 wire , 1.5" conduit would still be plenty for 100a service in the future
Install a 100a main breaker sub panel, with voltage drop I'd use a 50a breaker in the Main panel to feed it
THWN wire - is rated to be used in conduit

2 hots, white neutral, #6 ground, 2 grounding rods connected w/#6 min wire

Do you need more power then that ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:23 PM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,887
Default

Wiring Shop


2" pipe would still be a lot easier when you start pulling wire that distance

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with new shop wiring campchair Electrical 4 01-03-2010 07:44 PM
Wiring air compressor in to shop KAdams4458 Electrical 39 09-07-2009 04:13 AM
Wiring shop need advice stqevo Electrical 14 09-03-2009 12:18 PM
Advice on basement shop wiring WoodworkerDave Electrical 4 04-05-2008 12:12 PM
Wiring New Shop, OK? woodman51jfk Electrical 18 12-16-2007 11:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.