Wiring A Shed, Need Advice. - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 06:40 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a shed, need advice.


thanks everyone!

dumbplumb, i like the details you gave.

Is this the type of 6-3 i will need?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/UF-B-6-3-Und...item2ea92d6ccf

Also, what size and how many breakers will be added to my current home panel.

I completely understand how to wire the outlets & switches, but if someone could expand or even provide a diagram of how to wire the 6/3 on the home panel end, and at the shed on a 50amp sub panel. my home panel is a cutler hammer.

Advertisement

hgbpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 06:47 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,522
Rewards Points: 1,400
Default

Wiring a shed, need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Your right I redid my post.
I think you need to edit again. Remember the number six (6)?
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 06:58 AM   #18
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a shed, need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa

I think you need to edit again. Remember the number six (6)?
Yes up to six breakers is considered a main. I guess I forget who I'm dealing with.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 07:46 AM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

Wiring a shed, need advice.


You still need a disconnecting means for the detached shed, via a switch, or disconnect mounted before the panel.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 07:55 AM   #20
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Wiring a shed, need advice.


I don't think the OP even needs a 10-3 to the shed based on the proposed loads.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 08:53 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,522
Rewards Points: 1,400
Default

Wiring a shed, need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You still need a disconnecting means for the detached shed, via a switch, or disconnect mounted before the panel.
Sorry Julius, I should have kept my trap shut as I didn't know this.

jbfan.....where did the 6 throw rule come from if a disconnect near the panel is still needed?
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 09:00 AM   #22
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a shed, need advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa

Sorry Julius, I should have kept my trap shut as I didn't know this.

jbfan.....where did the 6 throw rule come from if a disconnect near the panel is still needed?
Nothing to apologize about. The way I remember 225.32 and 230.71 you are correct.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance

Last edited by Julius793; 02-02-2012 at 03:57 PM.
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 10:25 AM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Wiring a shed, need advice.


You could always run the wire in conduit and if you decide to upgrade you can just pull larger wires. Use at least one inch conduit and you will be ok. I can't remember how many times someone has refused to go larger or pay enough to have the wire in conduit. Then a couple years later find out they outgrow it.

Also don't forget to use expansion couplings whenever you go from the building into the ground.

Advertisement

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
building , garage , shed , utility , wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a shed jay3131 Electrical 0 06-19-2011 11:54 AM
Advice: Shed Plans/Insulation Question lukabrazi Building & Construction 16 01-23-2011 08:02 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 11:33 AM
Thermostat wiring advice tsugacanadensis HVAC 2 11-04-2008 08:04 AM
Shed Wiring bcdal Electrical 12 03-26-2008 05:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts