Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2007, 04:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 173
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring a shed


This may be an odd question or it may be common

I want to wire a room that I have permitted as a shed but is going to be used as an office/after storm room. (Not built strong enough for a safe room)

My plan is to have a pigtail wired into the main box at the house that would be connected to the panel box of the shed.
That way I could unplug in the event of a power outage and hook it to a generator if necessary with no danger to power workers
I also have a 12V system installed already

Is the pigtail feasible and will I need a permit to have this done

I can wire the shed myself and my nephew the electrician, who will draw up the electrical plan, can check my work when he comes down from NH this summer
But I'm not confident enough to play with live power

ocoee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 06:48 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a shed


You should not use a temporary wireing method, like an extension cord for perminant wireing to the shed.

What you can do is to wire to a small transfer switch located at the shed. The transfer switch would have one feed from your panel and one feed from an inlet located where you could plug your generator cord in. The load from the transfer switch could feed a small sub panel which would have the shed loads connected there.

An inlet is like a recepicle outlet, but instead of having holes for a cords prongs, it has the prongs. The female end of the generators cord plugs into it.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 08:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 173
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring a shed


I wasn't going to use an extension cord

The wiring would be appropriate for the application, only with a heavy duty quick disconnect at the house panel

Being able to use a generator is one reason the other is so as not to have to get a permit for wiring the shed but still stay legal as far as the wiring from the house

But if it is unsafe I'll have to go the permit route

The permit process here is ridiculous and takes at least two weeks

Last edited by ocoee; 06-05-2007 at 07:01 AM.
ocoee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 05:25 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wiring a shed


Please use a transfer switch. If a generator is hooked up wrong during a power outage, it will backfeed the powerlines. There is a reason that linemen are scared of the sound of a generator when they are working.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
House Wiring Help please FwuffyTheBunny Electrical 1 07-12-2007 11:46 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Subpanel to Shed - Check my plan NateHanson Electrical 9 04-26-2007 10:56 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.