Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2012, 02:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Wiring a Shed


I'm sure this question is somewhere in here, but like everyone else, my project is a bit different. Here is what I want to power in my shed:

4 light fixtures (60w) w/2 switches
1 table saw (13A)
1 router (8.5A)
1 miter saw (15A)
Of course, not all being used at the same time

1 shop vac (8.8A, used when a tool is used)
1 well pump (8.5A)
1 pool pump (15A???)
Being used at the same time often

Small radio
Black and Decker 18V battery charger
12V slow trickle boat battery charger

I have included my simple drawing (power point slide) of what I would like to do. At a minimum, I would call myself am a little better than ignorant when it comes to wiring and electricity, but I went to catholic school and I can read.

I want 3 dedicated lines for the well pump, pool pump and a tool outlet.
The shed is spilt into 2 sides (9X20 each), right side is weather tight, on a slab. The left side is dirt floor, 9X5 slab in the back, with a few plexi windows and two rows of clear roof tile so my wife can grow flowers (homemade attempt at a quasi green house)

The shed is about 80' away from the main panel in the house.
I was thinking UF-B 8/3 to the shed, 6 circuit sub panel.

Is this enough power for what I want? What flaws do you see in my idea? What am I over looking?

Please go easy if I am way off with my drawing or idea, remember, I am an extreme novice.

Thanks for your help and comments.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Shed diagram.pdf (72.2 KB, 38 views)

Joerigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 02:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,246
Default

Wiring a Shed


No mention if any of those pumps are 220 volt.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 02:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Wiring a Shed


Everything is 115/120
Joerigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 02:17 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,023
Default

Wiring a Shed


If it was me, I would be running a 60 amp circuit out there.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
novice, shed, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wood Shed Construction- Town wants concrete pad? TJ_in_IL Building & Construction 20 07-26-2011 09:21 PM
Shed Started, Issues with Zoning Rock8Reno Building & Construction 17 07-16-2011 06:06 AM
wiring a shed jay3131 Electrical 0 06-19-2011 10:54 AM
wiring electrical in a shed patrick29 Electrical 11 08-22-2009 03:46 PM
water run off in shed kathy k Building & Construction 4 08-09-2009 03:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.