Wiring For Satellite TV - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 04:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for Satellite TV


I am getting ready to begin wiring my newly framed basement with coaxial cable for my satellite tv. However, I have a question as to the best location to place my coaxial wall plate. I was thinking of placing it on the opposite side of the same stud that my electrical outlet is attached to. However, I'm not sure if this is too close to the electrical outlet which I've heard can cause interference. Any help would be apprecated.

Advertisement

Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:07 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Wiring for Satellite TV


Opposite sides of the studs is pretty much standard procedure for this type of install. In fact, as options have come available, it is now common to use the same box (with approved divider). You shouldn't have any problem with interference.

Advertisement

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:08 PM   #3
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wiring for Satellite TV


that is how mine are wired and I have never had an issue with interference. I think it looks tidier as well.

Personal preference.
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:14 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Wiring for Satellite TV


Do yourself a favor and run a Cat5 cable to the TV from your router or modem. DirecTV requires an internet connection for on-demand type programming. On top of that, many new TV's are also internet ready, so you might want to run 2 Cat5's.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:18 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for Satellite TV


Thank you. I agree that it looks tidier.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with wiring issues on a newly purchased house ThatGuy Electrical 13 01-17-2012 11:51 AM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 10:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 10:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts