Wiring A Receptical With 3 Wires? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2011, 06:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a receptical with 3 wires?


i have an electrical box, single gang for 1 outlet. It has 3 seperate wires coming into the box, one coming from another outlet, that will supply the power, and two wires leaving the box to go to two seperate outlets. all three wires have a ground.

My question is how do i wire this right.

Thanks for the help guys.

Advertisement

mac16m83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 07:31 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

wiring a receptical with 3 wires?


Two ways to do it.
Find receptacles that can accept four wires under the screws. These are called back wired and have a flat plate under the screw. One wire can go under each side of the plate(two per screw) allowing four wires to be connected to each side.
Pigtail the three wires with a short pigtail of the same gauge and colour. The pigtail connects to the receptacle.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 06:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a receptical with 3 wires?


if i pigtail the three wires together, with a short pigtail going to the receptical, that will be 4 wites together. is it okay to connect 4 wires with 1 wirenut, do i just use a larger wirenut?

Thanks for the help.
mac16m83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 08:47 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

wiring a receptical with 3 wires?


Yes, there will be four white and four black. Use the proper size wire nut and four wires will not be a problem.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My utility room's wiring, before rewiring WillK Electrical 0 01-07-2011 11:44 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 03:40 PM
Range Outlet Receptical Wiring - PICS nave Electrical 45 05-29-2008 07:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts