Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 08:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
unklerichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


I spent $200 on this motor and capacitor and I'm hoping for some assurance from one of you pros out there before I wire it incorrectly and kill it.
Photo 1: The motor and capacitor. Photo 2/3: Plate info on motor. Photo 4: Info from capacitor. Is this correct---> I think I should connect the black wire from the 110VAC power source to the black and blue wires on the motor, connect the white wire from the power source to the yellow wire from the motor, and the white wire also to one side of the capacitor, connect the other side of the capacitor to the red wire from the motor. As for grounding everything, if I connect the ground from the power source to the metal frame of the piece I'm building, would I also need a ground coming off the motor? Maybe under one of the motor mounting screws?
All advice appreciated. Thanks for your time.
unklerichie



Attached Thumbnails
Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!-motorpic1.jpg   Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!-plate1.jpg   Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!-plate2.jpg   Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!-capacitor1.jpg  

unklerichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:31 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


This is a fairly simple hookup;

Connect one of the 120 volt AC incoming lines the blue and black.

Connect the other incoming line to and one side of the capacitor. This would be one of the 3 spade terminals on either the left side as shown in the pic, or the right. It doesn't matter.

Connect the other side of the capacitor to red.

Connect the ground wire of the incoming line to the frame of the motor. There's usually a green screw for this purpose.

You can use wirenuts for the wire connections, for the capacitor, use .250 push-on spade terminals.

To be a bit safer, I'd connect the hot (usually black) of the incoming line to blue and black. This would leave the neutral (usually white) connected to the capacitor. The neutral is grounded, so there'd be no voltage at one of the capacitor terminals. The other one would have voltage to ground, be sure to insulate both.

Rob

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
unklerichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Talking

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


Thank you for your help Rob. I'm feeling good about this now.
unklerichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:21 AM   #4
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


be careful with the capacitor, those suckers will hold enough charge, even when off, to give you a very nasty shock! Mount it in such a way that the terminals are not exposed and easily touched by accident.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
unklerichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


Thank you TTW. I purchased a capacitor mounting kit for this and it includes a rubber seal that fits over the spade terminals so they will be protected. But if I'm working on things and need to discharge the capacitor, is there a safe way to do this? Or does the charge eventually dissipate? How long would it take?
Thanks.
unklerichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:45 PM   #6
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


Just short it out with a screwdriver. It'll discharge pretty much instantly. Might get a nice little spark.

I've been bit badly twice, the first time I was troubleshooting a 220 volt window AC unit, . I reached in to feel the temperature of the suction line and my palm hit both terminals of the starting capacitor, while it was running.

Knocked me back about 10 feet and actually cooked some of the muscle in my hand. Painful as hell. Spent that evening drinking beer to kill the pain with my hand in the ice in the cooler.

I am damn careful around capacitors.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:58 PM   #7
Newbie
 
unklerichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


One more question please... would a rocker type switch be okay to install on the black wire between the wall and the black/blue wires of the motor in the setup described in the reply (micromind) to my original post?
Thanks again.
unklerichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:02 PM   #8
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


You mean like a standard wall sw or a small toggle sw?

Either would be fine as long as they are rated for 1 amp or more.

What are you making?
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:13 PM   #9
Newbie
 
unklerichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


It's the type of switch pictured below. I'm building a prop with a simple conveyor belt kind of motion. It's a treadmill that I stripped down, scrapped the electronics and the motor that came with it, and bought a gearmotor from Grainger. I had to have a shaft adapter machined so I could use the original pulley and belt setup. Using the treadmill allowed me to have the bearings and belt and frame already assembled. I just had to hook up an appropriate motor for a slow, constant speed for 16 hours on 8 hours off. I haven't actually had it running yet. I'll be wiring it in the morning. I'm hoping for the best.
Attached Images
 
unklerichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:11 PM   #10
Newbie
 
unklerichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Question

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


I need a little more clarification. I've followed Rob's direction and I'm unclear where to hook up the yellow wire from the motor. Does it need to come of the capacitor like the red wire from the motor or do I need to connect it directly to the white line in and bypass the capacitor? This is my last connection before I turn it on. Thanks.
Rich
unklerichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:57 PM   #11
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


direct to white
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
unklerichie (12-07-2012)
Old 12-07-2012, 04:54 PM   #12
Newbie
 
unklerichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


IT LIVES! IT LIVES! Thanks for your help everybody. Everything works as planned. Love this web site.
unklerichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 04:59 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,793
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


Quote:
Originally Posted by unklerichie View Post
IT LIVES! IT LIVES! Thanks for your help everybody. Everything works as planned. Love this web site.
We need pics of the monster.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
TTW (12-07-2012)
Old 12-07-2012, 05:03 PM   #14
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


Yes Pics please!
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:48 PM   #15
Newbie
 
unklerichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!


I'll post a pic of the finished piece in a bit...first, one more question: The motor in this piece is not connected to the metal frame. It's mounted to the wood structure. So I ran the ground from the line in to the metal frame and then a second wire from the frame to one of the screws on the metal mounting bracket I used for the motor. Here's a pic of my setup. Is this safe? The blue wire coming from underneath is coming off the switch I installed (not black like the line in would be w/o the switch) and I used a plastic box to house the two wire nut connections (don't know if this is necessary). I'll be putting a cover on it. Look okay?
Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring question OR I don't want to fry my motor!-wiringsetup.jpg  


Last edited by unklerichie; 12-09-2012 at 08:54 PM. Reason: forgot pic!
unklerichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace condensor fan motor? twags HVAC 43 07-22-2013 08:09 PM
wiring for two speed Emerson motor PerryupNorth Electrical 2 12-02-2011 10:44 AM
Basement wiring question kupalino Electrical 8 11-14-2009 09:25 AM
Motor control wiring problem dgr68 Electrical 8 01-04-2009 05:13 PM
Wiring a 1/4 condenser motor. kramnation HVAC 15 10-31-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.