Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2011, 02:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Share |
Default

Wiring question


couple easy questions that I can't to seem to find the answer...

recessed lights done in the living room. With an attic up top. The current set up is 2 lanes with 3 lights each. 6 lights total. The power comes the switch up the wall into the attic to lets say lights 1, 2, and 3. The wiring is parallel to to the joist. the wiring is not nailed to the joist. just goes from light to light. Then after light 3 the wire needs to connect to lets say light 4, 5, and 6 which is lets say 3 sets of joist over. The wire goes over the joist not thru it by drilling holes. Is this a problem?

another electrical question. Theres a wire running to the main panel and seems like it was made 2 foot or a 1 foot short and instead of going across the beam then 90 degree turn down to the panel. since it was short and it wouldnt reach going that route it just goes across to the panel. Since the wire is short, can I make a junction box. Is this allowed? I hope i explained this one correctly.


Last edited by fabian; 07-27-2011 at 02:46 PM. Reason: added question
fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 07:25 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Default

Wiring question


Here is a picture... see the yellow wire?

fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 07:32 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

Wiring question


The yellow cable is not properly secured. There needs to be no more than 4.5' between staples or point of being secured. You can make the cable longer by using a knockout higher on the panel. Many cable clamps can accept 2 flat cables. You could also use a KO on top of the panel if any are available.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 07:40 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Default

Wiring question


Jim thanks for the reply. Can i add a junction box somewhere in order to add new 12/2 wire? to make it long enough to run across the top beam? It still wont reach if i go to the top knock outs. If i do that I wont be able to secure it with the hammer staples.
fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 07:58 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

Wiring question


You can add addition length by using permanently accessible junction boxes with cover plates.

I forgot the attic part. If the cable is accessible it should be stapled or secured. If the cable was fished between access points it does not need to be secured.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
fabian (07-28-2011)
Old 07-28-2011, 08:11 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Default

Wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You can add addition length by using permanently accessible junction boxes with cover plates.

I forgot the attic part. If the cable is accessible it should be stapled or secured. If the cable was fished between access points it does not need to be secured.
Jim thanks for taking the time. I think I will do a junction box in the near future and redo the staples.
as far as the attic, it is in a part where its accessible. Will this pass inspection if i went to sell the house? or should i staple it to the joist and run the wire thru drilled holes in the joist where needed.
fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 08:28 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

Wiring question


If not subject to damage and it is more than 7' from an attic scuttle you should meet the code requirements if it is secured. Closer than 7' would need running boards to protect the cable from things stacked on top or being walked on.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:31 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Wiring question


How far from the current staple until it hits the joist?
It looks to be less than 4.5 feet.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about AFCI and Ontario code as well as some other general wiring queries drunken0monkey Electrical 5 06-15-2010 09:49 AM
Yet another subpanel wiring question Chris_M Electrical 6 06-10-2010 05:12 PM
mini split Wiring question??? mjebril HVAC 5 08-02-2009 06:31 PM
Attic wiring question everyman Electrical 4 07-07-2009 09:47 AM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.