Wiring Problem - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2012, 08:03 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
at the switch location, wire all the whites together including your new cable, wire all the blacks and red together, EXCEPT the black from your new cable, that wire goes to the switch, then add a pigtail from the previous blacks and red splice to feed the switch.
Can't he just leave the blacks wired through and buy new plugs so the top and bottom have power and use the red to power his switch?

Advertisement

Wirepuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:15 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wirepuller View Post
Can't he just leave the blacks wired through and buy new plugs so the top and bottom have power and use the red to power his switch?
Why would you want to do it that way?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:38 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring problem


Ya if he's actually using that switch for his plugs that makes no sense. Threw my bias in there I don't have a need for plugs on a switch.
Wirepuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:17 PM   #19
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


This is an older house, if I could go through the house and take all the switches off the plugs, I'd be all over it. too much work though.

I have everything hooked back up, but now I'm wondering how to get the switch to run the wire going to the center of the room.

I have tried to hook the blacks together on one side of the switch, whites together, then the red in the other side of the switch. It seems that the light fixture is getting constant power even with the switch off.
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:19 PM   #20
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


The main thing I want to do, is add a ceiling light to the existing setup. Using the same switch. If possible.
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:00 PM   #21
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


Anyone have any idea how I could do this?

Even if I put the switch on both the light fixture and the outlet?
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:15 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Wiring problem


You have to run another wire from te light to the switch.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:21 PM   #23
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


I have ran the wire, do I wire it exactly like I do with the outlet?

I tie all the white together, all black, (except my new wire, that would go to one side of the switch, right?) and red in the other side of the switch? Is this correct?
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:42 PM   #24
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,778
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
I have ran the wire, do I wire it exactly like I do with the outlet?
Post a new picture of what you now have in the switch box.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:43 PM   #25
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


Ok, I will have to do this once I get home tonight. Just at work right now.
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:13 PM   #26
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


Here are the new wires.

Black, red, and white (from panel)
Black and white (to receptacle)
Black and white (to junction box on the ceiling)
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring problem-image-1583433231.jpg  
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:21 PM   #27
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
Here are the new wires.

Black, red, and white (from panel)
Black and white (to receptacle)
Black and white (to junction box on the ceiling)
??
Are you positive the 3 wire goes to the panel? so your receptacles still work with this taken apart like this?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:42 PM   #28
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


Yeah, I'm positive it goes to the panel, and no, nothing works right now, I just took it apart to separate the wires for the picture
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:54 PM   #29
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
Yeah, I'm positive it goes to the panel, and no, nothing works right now, I just took it apart to separate the wires for the picture
And this was an existing switch? I'm going to just assume the red wire was just coiled up in the back of the box then and never used?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:57 PM   #30
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


It was an existing switch.

The red wire was originally hooked up. The switch operated one receptacle, which a light was plugged into.

Advertisement

Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical wiring exposed....problem or not?? pipsal Electrical 4 03-22-2010 12:49 PM
AC wiring Problem SLEDGEHAMMER84 HVAC 12 01-22-2010 01:13 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Home wiring problem CAD Electrical 8 10-17-2009 03:26 PM
Outdoor AC on whenever heat is on - wiring problem? SammyLi HVAC 3 10-12-2008 01:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts