Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2012, 12:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


Have a switch that was taken apart, put back together and now it doesn't work. I did not see the setup before and now I'm confused as to how it goes back together... It is a switch that controls a single side of a wall socket. The other side of the socket has constant power.

Or if I could just turn it Into a single switch for a light in the center of the room?
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring problem-image-2394306434.jpg  

Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 12:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


Also, this is what the receptacle looks like that the switch is powering.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring problem-image-312336482.jpg   Wiring problem-image-815527901.jpg   Wiring problem-image-1865680387.jpg  

Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:01 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,681
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Wiring problem


judging by how short the white wires are... I'd say they get wirenutted together.
The red wire is PROBABLY the switch leg.
The two blacks are PROBABLY the always hot and the feed through.

Five minutes with a good tester would tell the tale.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


The red and black on the left side are hot.
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:14 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
The red and black on the left side are hot.
probably because a tab on a receptacle is not broken off. Pull out all the receptacles in the room and verify this.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:18 PM   #6
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


What do you mean by that? This switch was working correctly at one point.
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:20 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
What do you mean by that? This switch was working correctly at one point.
Did you change any of the receptacles out? and why was the switch ever removed to begin with?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


No receptacles were changed.. It was originally removed because my girlfriend thought she could put any old switch in to replace the one that was there. She put it in and it didn't work, do she left it like that.

Now what I really want to do is put in a light in the center of the ceiling and have that switch control it..
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:28 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
No receptacles were changed.. It was originally removed because my girlfriend thought she could put any old switch in to replace the one that was there. She put it in and it didn't work, do she left it like that.

Now what I really want to do is put in a light in the center of the ceiling and have that switch control it..
You will have to run a new wire up to the ceiling light from that switch box, if no attic exist you could use a surface wiring method such as wire mold.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


I can run a new wire no problem, but how would I wire this back together, make the receptacle functional, and have the switch only control the fixture in the ceiling?
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 01:55 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
I can run a new wire no problem, but how would I wire this back together, make the receptacle functional, and have the switch only control the fixture in the ceiling?
at the switch location, wire all the whites together including your new cable, wire all the blacks and red together, EXCEPT the black from your new cable, that wire goes to the switch, then add a pigtail from the previous blacks and red splice to feed the switch.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 03:27 PM   #12
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


Thanks so much for the info. I will try this out when I get home. I'll post the outcome.
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 03:34 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
Thanks so much for the info. I will try this out when I get home. I'll post the outcome.
One other concern, that switch could very well be a three way application, So that will have to be determined before you make the splice up.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 05:27 PM   #14
Member
 
Tdsgraffiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring problem


If I was to hook it up the first way, what's the worst that could happen?
Tdsgraffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 06:02 PM   #15
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,681
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Wiring problem


Look at the first picture again... see the black wire on the left?
if has a stripped insulation section in the middle.
That part goe on one screw of a standard switch an the red goes on the other screw of that standard switch. The other end of that black wire gets wirenutted to the the other black wire and the two whites get wirenutted together

This puts the switch box the way it belongs.
---
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tdsgraffiti View Post
If I was to hook it up the first way, what's the worst that could happen?
If you're measuring 120V to ground on both the red and black...
you'll trip the breaker.
That problem will be answered in your next thread.


Last edited by TarheelTerp; 07-08-2012 at 06:04 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical wiring exposed....problem or not?? pipsal Electrical 4 03-22-2010 11:49 AM
AC wiring Problem SLEDGEHAMMER84 HVAC 12 01-22-2010 12:13 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Home wiring problem CAD Electrical 8 10-17-2009 02:26 PM
Outdoor AC on whenever heat is on - wiring problem? SammyLi HVAC 3 10-12-2008 12:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.