Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2011, 01:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Wiring Problem


I'm in the midst of redoing my garage and the old fixture in the ceiling was something merely screwed into a bulb socket. I removed the old fixture today and it was a nightmare what I pulled out of the ceiling. I'm attaching a picture of what I pulled out.

What I'm trying to do is replace the light socket with a regular outlet so I can install two hanging shop lights.

This circuit is always on, not controlled by a switch that I'm aware of (because there aren't any in the garage). My parents moved into the house in 1977 so it was built some time in the 60's. That's all the info I have.

Any insight would be fantastic as to what I'm supposed to do.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring Problem-img-20110812-00071-1-.jpg  

mainegoer72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 01:34 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 8
Default

Wiring Problem


I just went into the garage to close my garage door with the opener and it's not working. So not only do I have that wiring mess hanging from my ceiling, my garage door opener on the other side of the garage doesn't work either.

Just thought I'd add that to the mix!

mainegoer72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 02:41 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,410
Default

Wiring Problem


There should have only been two wires connected to the old socket. Any other splices should have been left alone.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 07:13 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 8
Default

Wiring Problem


But that's the thing, there wasn't! That's why when I went to put in the outlet I made the right connections and it tripped the breaker. If it was working before it should be working again. I isolated all the hots because I didn't have a wire nut big enough to hold 3 wires.

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
mainegoer72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 07:17 PM   #5
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Wiring Problem


Do you have a meter?

I will bet there is one hot and 2 not

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 07:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 8
Default

Wiring Problem


Yeah I can run the multimeter to see what's hot. I just didn't want to short anything out again.

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
mainegoer72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 07:59 PM   #7
Member
 
Johnboy555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 59
Default

Wiring Problem


H!..
The black wires were probably connected, providing a "run through" to the EDO (electric door opener) outlets. Just connect the 3 black wires with 1 wire nut.

The red wire would be your "switch leg" providing control to your light.

You can get a "duplex" (outlet) cover for that box at HD. You would connect the single red wire to the brass (hot) side of the outlet, and the wire that's connected to the whites to the silver (neutral) side of the outlet. If there is not enough room for the wires and outlet in the box, they have a 4" box "extension" ring that you can screw on the existing box to give you the room needed. It looks just like the existing box, without a "back" .♦

Johnboy555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical wiring exposed....problem or not?? pipsal Electrical 4 03-22-2010 11:49 AM
AC wiring Problem SLEDGEHAMMER84 HVAC 12 01-22-2010 12:13 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Home wiring problem CAD Electrical 8 10-17-2009 02:26 PM
Outdoor AC on whenever heat is on - wiring problem? SammyLi HVAC 3 10-12-2008 12:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.