Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2011, 06:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

wiring pot lights


how can I wire 3 pot lights on a circuit when the power source is coming from a recepatacle. the pots come before the switch

richie89m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:18 PM   #2
Coatings Nerd
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 364
Rewards Points: 0
Default

wiring pot lights


I don't think you can

__________________
www.northcromwellpaint.com

Benjamin Moore, Sikkens, TWP, PPG, Airless sales and service
NCpaint1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

wiring pot lights


A common problem with pot lights is that the connection boxes for the wires are quite small. Perhaps too small to support 3 wire cable going between them.

So you need to run the power using a 2 wire cable to the switch first. If the best route would go through the lights, the cable to the switch can run unbroken past the outside of the lights.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:32 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

wiring pot lights


You would run a 2 wire + ground cable from the receptacle to the light. From the light you would run a 3 wire + ground between the lights and then to the switch. The blacks will splice thru. The reds will splice to the fixture blacks. All white together. All grounds together. The black and white will splice to the same colors at the receptacle. Also the grounds.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to route wiring for can lights? sheslostcontrol Electrical 3 01-10-2011 04:19 PM
Wiring question - two lights with one switch... Cleon26 Electrical 3 12-28-2010 09:09 AM
Wiring Basement Recessed Lights RyanNirg Electrical 1 10-14-2010 05:40 PM
Wiring lights with power coming into first light rovers1973 Electrical 2 08-23-2010 06:52 AM
Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights heydj Electrical 9 05-07-2009 08:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.