Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2010, 02:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring a pool - 10/3 UF in conduit


I'm thinking of running a line to my pool. From what I understand, the code states that the ground must be insulated, thus the only option is to run conduit with separate wires (THWN water resistant wires). I was wondering if I could run UF wire (10/3 with ground) and just not use the bare ground wire. I would also install this in gray PVC conduit for greater protection...

steveno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 02:37 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Wiring a pool - 10/3 UF in conduit


#10-3 UF is wide and flat. By the time you wrestled it into conduit you will wish you had used individual conductors. You also cannot repurpose the red to be a grounding conductor. The insulation color is wrong and it cannot be taped green under the rules.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 03:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a pool - 10/3 UF in conduit


I knew there had to be a reason it was not a common thing to do....thanks for the fast response...I know what needs to be done now...
steveno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:33 PM   #4
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a pool - 10/3 UF in conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by steveno View Post
I was wondering if I could run UF wire (10/3 with ground) and just not use the bare ground wire. I would also install this in gray PVC conduit for greater protection...

Are you saying not use a ground at all?
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a pool - 10/3 UF in conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by codeone View Post
Are you saying not use a ground at all?
No he was going to remark one of the insulated wires as the ground
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:47 PM   #6
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a pool - 10/3 UF in conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
No he was going to remark one of the insulated wires as the ground
Oops must be to tired tonight missread 10/3 thought he said 10/2.

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intex Pool goes underground arbizval Building & Construction 5 06-05-2011 08:34 AM
Swimming Pool subpanel tedpoppke Electrical 3 08-24-2010 08:59 AM
Working with PVC Conduit jasonnewyork Electrical 13 07-23-2010 12:38 PM
Code requirements for low voltage wiring in conduit with 120V flyboy Electrical 9 12-24-2009 06:48 PM
Pool Care Guide scottiedog Landscaping & Lawn Care 16 06-07-2008 08:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.