Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-09-2011, 02:20 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

wiring plan - looking for opinions

I am in the planning stage for finishing my basement (I am not a pro). I want to submit this wiring plan and hire an electrician, but before I do I wanted to get some opinions.

http://www.innerworkingdesigns.com/g...ent/wiring.PDF

I would appreciate any feedback.

Drliebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:35 PM   #2
Licensed electrician

Rewards Points: 2,466

I think you will need to add a receptacle closer to the slider. The fixed panel counts as wall space and you would need a receptacle within 6' both ways from entering the room.

The track lights may not meet the clearance requirements in the closet.

The bath fan should be ducted to the outside per the mechanical code.

Old 07-09-2011, 11:37 PM   #3

Joe, thanks for the useful information!

I have updated the original plan with some of the things you pointed out. http://www.innerworkingdesigns.com/g...ent/wiring.PDF

I am learning now that if the space looks like a closet then that is what it will be considered. The adjoining room in the bottom right side of the diagram is going to be used as a recording space and the closet is going to be used as a sound isolation booth. That is why I am putting an outlet, track light and dimmer switch in. I want to comply with code in order to get this approved, so I am going to have it installed with a regular overhead light and when all is done, I can put the track light in myself. I don't plan on using it for storage. Do you think this will fly?

I changed the plan to include two folding doors with about a foot of wall between them instead of sliding doors. (bottom left area) This is something that was debated before hand so it becomes an easy decision with the need of the additional outlet and should accommodate it well.