Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2009, 01:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Wiring a Panel


Hello All,

I am under full NEC 2008 regs here, and am trying to figure out exactly how to wire my panel in my new detached garage. I am going to be pulling directly off the meter socket. Specifically, I am confused on the grounds and neutrals. Do I run the main, rod, and rebar grounds to the grounding bar? How are the neutrals tied in then, thru the panel itself?
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a Panel-panel.jpg  

Last edited by DigitalFusion; 11-07-2009 at 01:46 AM.
DigitalFusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 04:45 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Wiring a Panel


At a main panel (panel with the main disconnecting means) the grounds and neutrals are bonded together. The neutral bus also is bonded to the panel box.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 10:10 AM   #3
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Default

Wiring a Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalFusion View Post
I am going to be pulling directly off the meter socket.
Explain exactly what you mean by that.

Detached garages are normally subpanels fed from the house panel.

But if you have a separate service at the garage, it could be a main panel.
__________________
Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 10:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Wiring a Panel


Install a grounding terminal terminal strip and land both grounding and bonding wires to it. Connect the neutral to the neutral lug and do not install the green bonding screw that came with the panel. If the green screw is installed remove it. This screw bonds the neutral lug and terminals to the enclosure. You do not want to bond the neutral at the sub panel. The grounding strip is bonded to the enclosure. It is important that they stay separated. Put all the bare grounds (EGC) on the grounding terminal strip. Put all the white neutrals on the neutral terminal strip.

By design the neutral terminal strip is insulated from the enclosure. The green bonding screw that came with the panel is for bonding this terminal strip. In this instance you will not use it.

Ps.....You cannot run a feeder directly from the meter for a sub panel. It must be fed from a circuit breaker or fuses. The best place to feed the sub panel is from the existing main panel in the house.

What size wire did you pull? That looks like a 100 amp panel. If it is you need #3 Cu for the two hots and a #8 for the ground (EGC).

Last edited by J. V.; 11-07-2009 at 10:21 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 10:23 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 12
Default

Wiring a Panel


This isnt a sub-panel. It is not connected to the house panel at all, in no way, shape, or form. The power will be coming directly from the meter socket. One lug in the meter socket goes inside the house, the other lug feeds my garage panel. The Inspector knows about this, and it is legal.

http://www.milbankmfg.com/products/c...pConnector.pdf

I have been searching around all morning. I am even more confused now! Two electricians, and the inspector said this would be code-legal, but everything I seem to find says that I should be doing a sub-panel, or that this is not legal?

The main panel in the house only has 2 slots left in it, and I am trying to avoid putting more holes in the side of the house, and filling up the panel in the house. I was told that using the item linked above, would allow me to skip going into the house, and give me true 100amp service in the garage, instead of sharing the 150amp service in the house. Im so lost right now.

Last edited by DigitalFusion; 11-07-2009 at 11:35 AM.
DigitalFusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:01 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 12
Default

Wiring a Panel


Ok. I think I understand it now. What was throwing me off is that ground in the main feed. When I originally (nearly a year ago) pulled those feeds, I planned on tapping into the main panel in the house. Then I learned about the load-tap connectors.

I dont need the grounding bar kit on the left side of the panel. I connect everything like a main panel in a house. I wonder what the inspector wants me to do with the rouge ground wire?
DigitalFusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Wiring a Panel


Dual lug meter feeds are OK to use as your Inspector has indicated
He's the one that does the Inspection

I'm not sure what you mean by Rouge ground wire?

Copper wire goes to the ground lug on the panel
Any other ground should also go to lug/bus grounding location
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 05:14 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 12
Default

Wiring a Panel


i meant the ground wire coming in with the main feeds. It was no longer needed with the meter feed. I hope I did everything right!

The pic was taken before I marked the 240v white wire as hot with black tape.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a Panel-panel_wired.jpg  

Last edited by DigitalFusion; 11-07-2009 at 05:16 PM.
DigitalFusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 05:37 PM   #9
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Default

Wiring a Panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalFusion View Post
I wonder what the inspector wants me to do with the rouge ground wire?
Probably get rid of it. Connecting it would create a parallel neutral path.
__________________
Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 05:58 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 12
Default

Wiring a Panel


thats what I did. I pulled it completely out of the conduit.
DigitalFusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 11:52 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Wiring a Panel


Deleted.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring from panel Rick N. Electrical 6 07-10-2013 04:25 PM
wiring from existing panel to new garage al99m Electrical 8 07-29-2009 08:42 PM
wiring 220 into sub panel danma Electrical 4 07-28-2009 10:28 AM
Exterior Wiring Questions elliowb Electrical 10 01-07-2009 08:01 AM
Wiring a sub panel? motorcity11 Electrical 8 10-23-2008 02:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.