Wiring An Oven In 2.5? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2012, 03:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Wiring an oven in 2.5?


Is there anything that actually stops me from wiring a 2.8kW oven in 2.5mm twin and earth? Done the cable sizing calculation and voltage drop and it's all legit, am I missing something though? I know a few people have said it better to wire it in 4mm/6mm incase a differemt cooker etc is ever put in, but is it dangerous for it to be wired in 2.5 for example could the cable overheat?

Advertisement

peterdevlin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:20 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Wiring an oven in 2.5?


Peter,
Your location? Sounds like not in the US?

Advertisement

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring an oven in 2.5?


UK scotland
peterdevlin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:29 PM   #4
Cruising into the sunset
 
JulieMor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 477
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wiring an oven in 2.5?


You need to find out conduit fill related to conductors. In the US, there are tables that specifically state how many conductors with a particular insulation can be installed in each size conduit. See if you can find the UK version of that.
JulieMor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring an oven in 2.5?


Im not using conduit though? It's installed under a floow
peterdevlin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 03:39 PM   #6
Cruising into the sunset
 
JulieMor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 477
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wiring an oven in 2.5?


So it's just a matter of planning for the future? If so, I'd say it's a cost vs. will you ever need a larger amperage circuit. If you've done the load calcs and you're sure you're good on the wire size and insulation, then all you need to decide is if you want to install larger wire in case you ever upgrade your oven.

When I first started my apprenticeship in 1974, we were installing 60A circuits for electrical ovens. I just replaced my gas oven with electric and only needed a 30A circuit. So in the future, your next oven could be even more efficient and you could find even a larger oven wouldn't require an electrical upgrade.

Sounds like it's a personal choice.

Advertisement

JulieMor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2.5 , cooker , oven , wire


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a built-in electric conection oven leemar Electrical 1 09-27-2010 11:05 AM
Cooktop and Stand Alone Oven Wiring Replacing Existing Single Range/Stove Combination ffauth Electrical 3 08-23-2010 10:03 PM
Wiring Cooktop and Under Counter Oven Preach_2 Electrical 18 03-19-2009 05:30 PM
oven wiring stan 41943 Electrical 8 03-24-2008 09:26 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts