Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-29-2008, 01:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


I am trying to wire two double outlets, one single outlet, a single switch and then two lights. The 14-2 feed comes from panel to first double outlet box then to second double outlet box then to single outlet box then to switch then to light one followed by light two.
I did white to silver screws and black to brass screws in each box then whites together at switch with black to each screw. Lights are straight white to white and black to black.
It doesnt work past the first double outlet box without tripping the breaker.
Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

heydj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:42 PM   #2
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,410
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


It should work as described. I would check the wire running from the first double to the next outlet. Sounds like you have nicked a black wire in a clamp.

__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:43 PM   #3
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


The first dbl box would be the first place to start then... check ALL the connections, then recheck and check again. Make sure they are all going to the right places, and are tight. When wiring 2 outlets in a dbl box, it's a good idea to use pigtails instead of having your incoming power to one outet, then short wires to the next then your cable leaving the box to the next. You should take ALL the black and wire nut them with 2 shorter black wires to go to each ooutlet, same with the whites.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:44 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


Check the first box to make sure there is no wire touching each other especally with the bare ground wire.

once you check for it and make sure there is no nicks on the wire insluation [ it kinda common if not carefull with it.]

leave the repectales out [ dont slide it back in at this min ] turn on the power if the breaker don't trip then you got something that it should not be touching then turn off the breaker then push the wires back in start with ground wire first then the rest back in. [ you have to watch it when you push it back in the box and make sure there is no other wires should not be touching where it should be.]

turn on the breaker if do not trip then you are ok but if still tripping you will have do more trouble shooting along the way.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 03:11 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


Thanks for the help guys. I will keep trying. I thought I had done everything correctly but there must be a short somewhere. I did discover that the first outlet in the first double box works fine and tests fine with current tester. When I connect the second outlet in the first box it works but both the neutral and hot sides show current. The when I connect the third outlet (1st in second double box) the breaker trips. I'm baffled but will keep trying.
heydj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:09 PM   #6
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by heydj View Post
Thanks for the help guys. I will keep trying. I thought I had done everything correctly but there must be a short somewhere. I did discover that the first outlet in the first double box works fine and tests fine with current tester. When I connect the second outlet in the first box it works but both the neutral and hot sides show current. The when I connect the third outlet (1st in second double box) the breaker trips. I'm baffled but will keep trying.
Usually this is because the bare ground is touching the brass screw on the receptacle when you push it in the box.

If that isn't the case, you may have driven a staple too tight into the cable.

The tester you say is showing hot on bot sides... is it the non-contact type that flashes when you are close to the hot? If so, this is just an artifact of how the thing works. It is just close to the hot on the other receptacle.

Inphase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:58 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


Do you have a meter? In these cases I like to use the meter for trouble shooting rather than to keep closing the breaker on a short circuit. Use the continuity (ohm) function of the meter. It also makes it easy to work your way down the circuit to find the short.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 05:17 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


Thanks to all of you for your help. I went back through each connection and "pigtailed" all of the outlets (instead of "jumpers") and it is working fine now. I think there was a pinch coming out of the second double box which was causing the short/ground. In any event the problem is solved.
Thanks again for all your help.
heydj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 07:58 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


...Best advice. Common sense. Should be able to spot any nicks (No. not the Basketball kind) in the wiring visually!
Merci Beaucoup!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 08:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Wiring Outlets Then Switch Then Lights


One word of caution. Especially for amateurs! Whenever you use the "Continuity" mode make absolutely 100% certain that the power to the circuit is OFF!!!

spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
recessed lighting wiring to 3way switch DIY4EVER Electrical 1 07-12-2007 01:35 PM
Wiring for external lights and outlets MikeinBurien Electrical 4 12-05-2005 12:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.