Wiring An Outlet From A Two-Way Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2009, 12:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring an Outlet From a Two-Way Switch


I have two two-way switches on a wall (well, I guess there are actually four switches. Two of the swtiches are in one box. One of the other switches is across the room. The other swtich controls garage lights - one switch in this box and the other switch out in the garage). I want to drop a line down the inside of the wall and put in an always-on outlet on the other side of the wall. Each switch has two black wires (white wires painted black near the switch) and one red wire (white wire painted red near the switch). The wires in the wire nuts are all white.

This box with the two switches is the closest power to where the new outlet needs to go.

I'm willing to try this, but I don't want to burn the house down in the process!

Advertisement

lburriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:29 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,349
Rewards Points: 3,492
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wiring an Outlet From a Two-Way Switch


You need to tell us all the wires and what cables they come from in the switch box. Are there any white wires not connected to the switches? If there are not then you can not do it. If the white wires inthe wire nut are not connected to the switches then it is probably possible.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring an Outlet From a Two-Way Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You need to tell us all the wires and what cables they come from in the switch box. Are there any white wires not connected to the switches? If there are not then you can not do it. If the white wires inthe wire nut are not connected to the switches then it is probably possible.
I agree, not enough info. Also we have arc fault /GFCI issues involved depending on the location and current code cycle in the location of the install.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:06 PM   #4
Contractor in PA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring an Outlet From a Two-Way Switch


What you have (and are calling two way switches) are actually known as 3 way switches (That should start the confussion).

The switches will have 3 wires attached to them on 3 different screws and a 4th ground wire (maybe). On the switches, you should see and notice that one of the screws on each switch is a different color than the other two screws. That different color screw is the common (and may be marked or labeled as such, depending on the make of the switch).

Look for the two common screws to be connected together. If they are, then that is a hot feed. Follow that wire back to the romex that it comes out of and look for the white wire coming out of the same romex jacket. If it is there, then that is your neutral wire.

If the two common screws are not connected together, then the liklyhood is that the feed is located in the opposite switch box and you will not be able to do what you want to do, without installing additional wires.
michaelpwalton1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
outlet , two-way switch


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
Bedrooms have no ceiling light, light switch controls one electrical outlet? notenoughtime Electrical 16 05-25-2009 01:09 AM
Replacing a single switch with 3 way switch using old wiring chriscam75 Electrical 3 02-17-2009 09:15 PM
3-Way Switch Wiring Question bhpizza Electrical 4 08-07-2007 06:51 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts