Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 11:02 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NORTH CAROLINA
Posts: 132
Share |
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Is there a particular way to go about doing this?

It's not going to be for an island but the vanity in the bathroom. The attached picture is how I would want it to look.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring an outlet through a cabinet-island-712780.jpg  

REXAMUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by REXAMUS View Post
Is there a particular way to go about doing this?

It's not going to be for an island but the vanity in the bathroom. The attached picture is how I would want it to look.
Your use of the words "this" and "it" make it difficult to interpret what the this and it is that you are referring to.

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:30 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NORTH CAROLINA
Posts: 132
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Your use of the words "this" and "it" make it difficult to interpret what the this and it is that you are referring to.
This and it meaning an outlet installed in the side of a cabinet.

I wasn't sure if there was a particular box made for this method. Also, does the wire need to be supported any differently or are staples fine?

Last edited by REXAMUS; 12-05-2012 at 11:32 AM.
REXAMUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:28 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Staples will probably come through the side of the cabinet. I sleeve the cable in plastic Panduit clamshell and use an old work box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (12-05-2012)
Old 12-05-2012, 02:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southeastern US
Posts: 222
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


You could consider using the "old construction" 1 gang boxes. Instead of drywall/sheetrock, you would just install the box onto the cabinet wall.

Hope this helps.

Ps. More importantly, IMO, you need to make sure it's to code. You should have a GFCI-protected outlet if it is right next to the toilet/tub...
oodssoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:37 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,893
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Staples will probably come through the side of the cabinet. I sleeve the cable in plastic Panduit clamshell and use an old work box.

In bold ^^, Stickboy will be chiming in
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:37 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
In bold ^^, Stickboy will be chiming in

It's not for protection, but cable managment!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:21 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Correct JB, I don't see the inside of the cabinet as a place that needs conduit to protect the cable. The panduct is slim enough to stick to the cabinet and keep the cable out of the way.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:42 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 214
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by REXAMUS View Post
Is there a particular way to go about doing this?

It's not going to be for an island but the vanity in the bathroom. The attached picture is how I would want it to look.
Is the vanity you're wanting the receptacle installed into in this trailer in the photo?
sgip2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:46 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NORTH CAROLINA
Posts: 132
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Okay sounds like my plan was good to go. Old construction one gang box and I already have a GFCI at the beginning of the run. Was more worried about securing the romex correctly.

One more question..what would you all recommend for the wire coming out of the drywall? I'd rather not just run the wire through a hole in the drywall. Is there some type of plate I can use or something to make it look more clean? I'm going to go look around on google now but figured it wouldn't hurt to ask.

Last edited by REXAMUS; 12-05-2012 at 07:44 PM.
REXAMUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:59 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Is the wire going to be visable?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NORTH CAROLINA
Posts: 132
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Is the wire going to be visable?

Come out the wall but inside the cabinet and then travel to the single gang box.
REXAMUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 07:59 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Wiring an outlet through a cabinet


I would do nothing with it.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet wiring; hidden ground wires Cahill_Main Electrical 4 11-26-2012 06:32 PM
Before I close walls: hard wiring under cabinet lighting with Romex. jws3 Electrical 6 08-29-2009 12:24 PM
Under cabinet lighting direct wiring Schwarzaroo Electrical 5 12-30-2008 09:25 PM
Wiring a new outlet advice kennykenny Electrical 19 08-29-2008 10:54 AM
Troubleshooting bedroom outlet wiring? Operator4819 Electrical 15 04-01-2007 08:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.