Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2014, 02:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


I recently decided to replace our existing range hood with an OTR Microwave. Our house was built in 2008 and the breaker box has a 20a breaker labeled "Range Hood" so I figured it was on it's own circuit and would not have any issues. In an effort to not electrocute myself I hired an electrician to install an outlet from the hardwire used for the range hood. Upon doing this we discovered the breaker labeled "Range Hood" also has our gas stove, refrigerator, and two plugins from our living room on it. The electrician I used told me it shouldn't be a problem as long as the breaker holds up. So my couple of questions are:

1. Is there a safety/fire hazard with this at all?

2. Is there an easy way to take this wire and make it a dedicated line without running a new wire? (The electrician quoted me over $1000 to run a new line to the breaker because he said they would have to run it outside around the house)

3. Isn't it some kind of code violation putting all of those things on the same breaker when they built the house in 2008? Would it be possible to go after the builder to get this fixed or am I out of luck?

Thanks for all the help in advance!

waffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 02:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,546
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


Your out of luck.
Micro Wave should be on it's own circuit.
I'd get another quote or two.
Single story house?
Slab foundation?
Just trying to figure out why the wire needs to be run outside.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 05:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,305
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by waffer View Post
I recently decided to replace our existing range hood with an OTR Microwave. Our house was built in 2008 and the breaker box has a 20a breaker labeled "Range Hood" so I figured it was on it's own circuit and would not have any issues. In an effort to not electrocute myself I hired an electrician to install an outlet from the hardwire used for the range hood. Upon doing this we discovered the breaker labeled "Range Hood" also has our gas stove, refrigerator, and two plugins from our living room on it. The electrician I used told me it shouldn't be a problem as long as the breaker holds up. So my couple of questions are:

1. Is there a safety/fire hazard with this at all?


2. Is there an easy way to take this wire and make it a dedicated line without running a new wire? (The electrician quoted me over $1000 to run a new line to the breaker because he said they would have to run it outside around the house)

3. Isn't it some kind of code violation putting all of those things on the same breaker when they built the house in 2008? Would it be possible to go after the builder to get this fixed or am I out of luck?

Thanks for all the help in advance!
1- Your pushing your luck, load wise ! And the quote from the electrician backs that up.
Borderline riskwise !

2 - What other circuits are nearby, that you might be able to use ?
$1000 seems a bit steep ? What sort of distances are in involved ?
Get more quotes !

3 - I think code wise, microwaves need dedicated circuits !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 05:29 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


What you have now was not even close to code complaint, especially as new as 2008.
No way I'd risk adding the OTR on with the refer.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-25-2014), oh'mike (01-23-2014), plummen (01-22-2014), stickboy1375 (01-23-2014)
Old 01-23-2014, 10:54 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


How far from the panel to the OTR receptacle, and what would prevent you from running a new line either by fishing through the walls from panel to receptacle, or using an attic to go up from the breaker panel, and back down to a new receptacle?

If you're handy, you ought to be able to do this yourself (with our help), and relocate the existing circuits correctly.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-23-2014)
Old 01-23-2014, 04:48 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


You have issues man...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 06:22 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


The panel is on the opposite end of the house located in the garage. I don't see a reason why a new line could go through the attack to the other end the house, down the wall right into the garage where the panel is. The electrician said the line needed to be ran outside and around the house because he thought it would be easier than tearing up drywall in the basement.

Isn't this something the city inspector should have caught when they put their inspection stamp on the house when it was built?
waffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 06:24 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by waffer View Post
The panel is on the opposite end of the house located in the garage. I don't see a reason why a new line could go through the attack to the other end the house, down the wall right into the garage where the panel is. The electrician said the line needed to be ran outside and around the house because he thought it would be easier than tearing up drywall in the basement.

Isn't this something the city inspector should have caught when they put their inspection stamp on the house when it was built?
They are not liable, but someone got what they paid for....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 06:31 PM   #9
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,119
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


Back when your house was built there was not a microwave installed there

perhaps not even an exhaust fan---

The new over the stove microwaves need a dedicated circuit---I've learned that the hard way---find a route for the new wire---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (01-23-2014)
Old 01-23-2014, 09:06 PM   #10
Member
 
dmclean701's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 134
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


I replaced a range hood exhaust vent with a microwave. I ran a new circuit from the main panel through the attic and down the inside wall above the microwave. It cost me about $65 for parts and about 4 hrs labor. $1000 seems high even at electrician labor rates.

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
dmclean701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 09:50 PM   #11
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,047
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by waffer View Post
The panel is on the opposite end of the house located in the garage. I don't see a reason why a new line could go through the attack to the other end the house, down the wall right into the garage where the panel is. The electrician said the line needed to be ran outside and around the house because he thought it would be easier than tearing up drywall in the basement.
it seems like going through the attic would be much easier, safer and cheaper than going outside. It should be quite easy to do.
Msradell is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Msradell For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-25-2014), oh'mike (01-24-2014)
Old 01-25-2014, 04:23 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


So I finally had my new microwave delivered today and it has been successfully installed. The owners manual says "For best operation, plug this appliance into its own electrical outlet to prevent flickering of lights, blowing of fuse or tripping of circuit breaker." Does this mean it isn't required to be on its own circuit?

I have decided to attempt to run a new wire on my own. My plan is to go straight up into the attic, over to the other side of the house, down a wall straight into the garage and then over to the circuit box. Seems pretty straight forward for the most part.
waffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 05:08 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


NEC code requires the micro to be on it's own circuit, even if the manufacturer does not...assuming the micro is rated 1200 Watts or more.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 05:28 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by waffer View Post
I recently decided to replace our existing range hood with an OTR Microwave. Our house was built in 2008 and the breaker box has a 20a breaker labeled "Range Hood" so I figured it was on it's own circuit and would not have any issues. In an effort to not electrocute myself I hired an electrician to install an outlet from the hardwire used for the range hood. Upon doing this we discovered the breaker labeled "Range Hood" also has our gas stove, refrigerator, and two plugins from our living room on it. The electrician I used told me it shouldn't be a problem as long as the breaker holds up. So my couple of questions are:

1. Is there a safety/fire hazard with this at all?

2. Is there an easy way to take this wire and make it a dedicated line without running a new wire? (The electrician quoted me over $1000 to run a new line to the breaker because he said they would have to run it outside around the house)

3. Isn't it some kind of code violation putting all of those things on the same breaker when they built the house in 2008? Would it be possible to go after the builder to get this fixed or am I out of luck?

Thanks for all the help in advance!
NO .. since the frig circuit is 20 amp ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 07:29 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Wiring for OTR Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by waffer View Post
The owners manual says "For best operation, plug this appliance into its own electrical outlet to prevent flickering of lights, blowing of fuse or tripping of circuit breaker." Does this mean it isn't required to be on its own circuit?
No, it means that it should be on it's own circuit, and as k_buz states, it must be, per NEC.

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a microwave and dishwaher using a 12/3 multi branch circuit kapry13 Electrical 10 03-20-2013 04:00 PM
Critique my Panel Wiring Please Ocelaris Electrical 14 03-16-2013 01:10 PM
Microwave fan motor wiring (for diy project) majstersztyk Electrical 0 12-01-2010 09:56 AM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.