Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2010, 10:29 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Share |
Default

Wiring options across joists


Tying to figure out my options here...

I need to add some outlets in an unfinished basement which will require new circuit. I also plan to add some simple pull string light fixtures, perhaps flourescent above workbench. Will be mounted to masonry wall. Half of the basement Is finished and is where main panel is located. So, my plan is to run wire above drop down ceiling in finished area into the unfinished part. My confusion revolves about which wiring method to use to achieve my goal. I could use NM above the drop down ceiling, but then what is my best option when transitioning to unfinished part. Can I continue to run NM along running boards to J-boxes. I realize it will have to be conduit down the walls to my receptacles but what about to my light fixtures. Conduit there as well or can I use the NM along running boards? What about flex or AC? Just a little confused on my options per code in an unfinished basement.

Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:33 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,366
Default

Wiring options across joists


NM all the way. I would drill holes instead of using running boards. Conduit is only needed if "subject to damage".

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:49 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Default

Wiring options across joists


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed
NM all the way. I would drill holes instead of using running boards. Conduit is only needed if "subject to damage".
I really want to avoid drilling holes. It's an older home and for peace of mind I don't want to add holes to the joists. Realize it may not matter one bit structurally, but I'm going to sleep easier at night without the holes there.

You don't mean I can do NM on the walls to the receptacles do you? I was pretty sure conduit is my option here.
Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:53 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Wiring options across joists


wiremold
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 12:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Wiring options across joists


Use running boards across the floor joists and drop down into PVC sleeved boxes. Run the NM directly to the light fixtures.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Default

Wiring options across joists


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V.
Use running boards across the floor joists and drop down into PVC sleeved boxes. Run the NM directly to the light fixtures.
Can anyone provide a picture/link of the PVC sleeved boxes so I'll know precisely what I'm looking for?

Appreciate all the help.
Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:40 PM   #7
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 761
Default

Wiring options across joists


I think what he's referring to is running a stub of PVC conduit out the top of the outlet boxes, up to ceiling height. You would run the NM cable through it to protect from physical damage where it runs down the wall.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:47 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,395
Default

Wiring options across joists


Here is one graphic courtesy of Mike Holt.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
J. V. (01-02-2011)
Old 12-31-2010, 01:47 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Default

Wiring options across joists


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve
I think what he's referring to is running a stub of PVC conduit out the top of the outlet boxes, up to ceiling height. You would run the NM cable through it to protect from physical damage where it runs down the wall.
Ok - that's what I was thinking, just didn't say it real well. Essentially the conduit would run up into the joist cavity where the NM would enter, making it protected? NM would either be stapled along joist or along running board depending on the run.

Never used PVC conduit. Does it attach to a regular metal handy box or does it require a specialized box. Is there a specific type/size I'm required to use? Plan is to be using 12/2 wire.
Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 06:36 AM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Wiring options across joists


Quote:
Originally Posted by Atskodinski View Post
Ok - that's what I was thinking, just didn't say it real well. Essentially the conduit would run up into the joist cavity where the NM would enter, making it protected? NM would either be stapled along joist or along running board depending on the run.
Correct, to both questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atskodinski View Post
Never used PVC conduit. Does it attach to a regular metal handy box or does it require a specialized box. Is there a specific type/size I'm required to use? Plan is to be using 12/2 wire.
Using electrical PVC conduit is alot like using white PVC plumbing pipe, except it's more flexible, and glued together the same way. There are fittings available for RNC to connect to boxes and such, much like metal conduit is done. How many receptacles are you installing? If just one, I'd recommend using a 4" square box with a raised cover to accomidate the GFCI receptacle you'll need (plus the box fill required by the wires), unless you use a GFCI breaker.

One 12/2 NM cable will go down a piece of 1/2" PVC conduit, but good luck getting 2 cables in a 1/2". You'll need 3/4" at least, if you're going to leave the GFCI box and go to another receptacle box using the same pipe. You could mount a box in the joist cavity and drop down to the receptacle...just an idea. How ever you do it, the first receptacle has to be a GFCI recept, unless you use a GFCI breaker.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:04 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Default

Wiring options across joists


Thanks. I'm going to be doing several receptacles, but will only be using each box for one cable. I'm going to put j-boxes where i need them on the joists. So sounds like 1/2" will work and then I just need to buy the appropriate PVC box to house the receptacle. All will be GFCI.

I don't strip the NM sheathing when it enters the conduit do I? What if it was EMT, would you strip the sheathing then? Confused because an electrician told me NM can't be run in conduit, that I would have to strip the NM sheathing and bush the entry point. But we were talking specifically about EMT.
Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:26 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,395
Default

Wiring options across joists


Do not strip the sheathing off the NM cable. You do need a smooth bushing or fitting at the top of the conduit, see the graphic i posted above.

NM cable can be run in conduit where physical protection is required.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 03:09 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Default

Wiring options across joists


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port
Do not strip the sheathing off the NM cable. You do need a smooth bushing or fitting at the top of the conduit, see the graphic i posted above.

NM cable can be run in conduit where physical protection is required.
Do you have a code reference to that? Just to make me feel better about doing it given the conflicting advice.

Appreciate everyone's input.
Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 03:47 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Wiring options across joists


You can run NM in conduit as long as the conduit is sized large enough for the cable
You do not strip the sheathing off when you run it in conduit
The electrician you talked to does not know what he is saying
Ask him for a code reference
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 12:32 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 84
Default

Wiring options across joists


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave
You can run NM in conduit as long as the conduit is sized large enough for the cable
You do not strip the sheathing off when you run it in conduit
The electrician you talked to does not know what he is saying
Ask him for a code reference
Thank you. Just talked to him in passing but he thru me for a loop. Everything I had read says its ok.

Appreciate everyone answering my questions.

Atskodinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running wiring at joists for pot lights georgeo Electrical 1 07-21-2010 06:10 AM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Sister or Replace Floor Joists brando1118 Carpentry 25 10-26-2008 08:43 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.