Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2013, 10:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 169
Share |
Default

Wiring NM in Conduit for basement walls


I'm redoing our 1954 houses' wiring and I just passed the rough in inspection, and 12 new circuits for the main floor are now live, but our somewhat unfinished basement needs a few replacement circuits so I can replace the boiler. The basement on some walls is 3/4" pine painted panels (shimmed off 3/4"), and the original steel BX was run hither and there, spliced randomly, and where they needed an outlet (for washer and gas dryer) it was run with steel conduit down the wall and then attached with concrete anchors for the metal box. I need to replace these few outlets and I'm rewiring everything with 12 gauge NM (except for smokes which are 14-3), on a bare wall without paneling (paneling is only shimmed out 3/4") do I just follow the same pattern of running the NM in the ceiling (through joists), and then down the wall with sch-40 (or 80? whatever the grey plastic is)? I'm comfortable with the plastic piping as I used to do a lot of low voltage outdoor wiring, and I assume this procedure is similar, but I've never bent steel piping for running NM or BX. Thanks!

Ocelaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 02:11 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

Wiring NM in Conduit for basement walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocelaris View Post
<sniiiiiiiiiiip!> I'm rewiring everything with 12 gauge NM...
do I just follow the same pattern of running the NM in the ceiling (through joists), and then down the wall with...
surface mounted emt or pvc to the surface mounted device boxes.
Sure. EXCEPT that you really shouldn't put NM inside conduit.

Buy the clamp adapter fittings for the other end of the conduit...
then strip the insulation for the wire going down to the devices.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 02:34 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Wiring NM in Conduit for basement walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
surface mounted emt or pvc to the surface mounted device boxes.
Sure. EXCEPT that you really shouldn't put NM inside conduit.

Buy the clamp adapter fittings for the other end of the conduit...
then strip the insulation for the wire going down to the devices.
Why??
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (03-15-2013)
Old 03-15-2013, 03:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 169
Default

Wiring NM in Conduit for basement walls


what would the purpose/benefit be of using EMT vs. Plastic. i.e. are there requirements for metal in some cases?

When can you strip the sheathing off Romex and use them in conduit?

For outside do you have to use UM cable in conduit or do you use THHN?

The some rooms don't have stud walls everywhere, and they need outlets, so coming out of the ceiling I assume I put a box, and then attach the EMT down the wall to a metal box.

Thanks!
Ocelaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 04:35 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,937
Default

Wiring NM in Conduit for basement walls


Personally, just nail a 2x4 to the wall and staple the NM directly to it. OR staple it directly to the 3/4" paneling, NM is legal to run exposed, unless you find yourself having an axe wielding contest in your basement....

Last edited by stickboy1375; 03-15-2013 at 04:37 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 04:43 PM   #6
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,198
Default

Wiring NM in Conduit for basement walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
NM is legal to run exposed, unless you find yourself having an axe wielding contest in your basement....
Not here. Any NM below the joist level of a basement must be protected. I thought that was universal?

(P.S. I am outside of the crazy Chicago electrical rules)
hyunelan2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 04:44 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,937
Default

Wiring NM in Conduit for basement walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by hyunelan2 View Post
Not here. Any NM below the joist level of a basement must be protected. I thought that was universal?
No, it's not universal, and if you don't have an amendment, someone is just having a power trip of a requirement.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best flxible drill bit setup to go up/down walls for wiring? Grayguy Electrical 5 02-21-2013 07:08 AM
best flxible drill bit setup to go up/down walls for wiring? Grayguy Tools 0 02-18-2013 02:58 PM
Conduit questions in shed wiring TheCowGod Electrical 28 03-18-2012 01:42 PM
Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit Richo Electrical 8 01-20-2011 08:56 PM
Conduit tubes for Structure Wiring Codes genner Electrical 7 05-29-2009 02:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.