Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2010, 05:21 AM   #1
CG1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring a new timer


I am have installed a new timer for my landscape lighting. It is different from the original timer and I am having trouble getting power. I will attach two pictures - I have installed the two jump-connecters per the instructions. I installed the power from the breaker to the left two posts. the lines feeding my landscape light are conencted to NC2 and NO2.

When I turn on the power the first few posts are hot but the left posts are not. Any help on wiring this correctly would be appreciated. thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a new timer-img_0700.jpg   Wiring a new timer-img_0699.jpg  

CG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 06:25 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 489
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Wiring a new timer


Nice grounding connection. Why not just tie them in a knot?

busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 09:24 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new timer


It appears both the power and neutral are being switched. Try moving the wire currently on NC2 to NO.
Tuckahoe Sparkplug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 11:32 AM   #4
CG1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuckahoe Sparkplug View Post
It appears both the power and neutral are being switched. Try moving the wire currently on NC2 to NO.

Thank you, I appreciate the assistance and will try it this evening.
CG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 03:32 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,798
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Wiring a new timer


Lighting 120v?

Looks like to me that the neutrals tie together, and the NC2 sholud move to the NO.
Remove the jumper from the neutral to com2

As you have it wired now, the com2 does not have a hot wire.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 02:16 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by CG1 View Post
I have installed the two jump-connecters per the instructions.
The manufacturer obviously intended to switch the neutral on one set of contacts and switch the hot with the other set. I'd leave the jumpers and neutrals as they are and just move the wire from NC2 to NO. Just my humble opinion.
Tuckahoe Sparkplug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:31 AM   #7
CG1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new timer


Hello again. My work has made other plans for me the past couple of days and I have not gotten home at a reasonable time to apply these suggestions. hopefully this evening !

Yes, 120V

I'll start with Tuckahoe's suggestions of moving the NC2 to NO and see what that nets me. If not I will remove the jumper as jbfan suggested as he too felt the NC2 should be moved. Like I said, if I get out of work at a reasonable time tonight I'll try these suggestions. thanks again !!

BTW, huge Jimmy Buffett fan here ;-)
CG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:36 AM   #8
CG1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new timer


Hi all. Not pleased that work has been dogging me all week - but I was able to take today off ! Anyway, I switched NC2 to NO as Tuckahoe Sparkplug originally suggested and it resolved the issue - thank you all very much for your assistance, it's greatly appreciated !
CG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 09:54 AM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new timer


just for future reference;

always read the manufacturers instructions

when dealing with switches/contact;

NC= normally closed
NO= normally open

COM= common= generally associated with a set of other terminals a NO and an NC

this particular timer requires power to operate (the left 2 terminals) and is capable of switching two separate circuits if desired.

the neutral to the devices is not intended to be connected to the switched contacts.

so, if you are powering everything from one circuit, and that circuit is also used to power the timer, the connections should be (I cannot see the designations for the first two terminals so I will accept the neutral is in the proper position), I see that you are only controlling 1 device/circuit and you are using contact #2 so I will stay with that

terminal 1- circuit neutral, neutral to your controlled devices.

term 2 - circuit hot jumper to com 2 (you can also run a jumper to com if you need to switch an additional device

term 3- empty

term 4- empty

term 5- empty

term 6- empty

term 7- conductor to your controlled device(s)

term 8- jumper from term 2

the neutral to your devices can be inserted in term 1 or you can use a pigtail

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring an Intermatic Wall Timer in a three way switch aitutaki98 Electrical 6 07-23-2011 11:43 AM
Wiring an Itermatic Wall Timer in a 4 way stitch SunnyInFlorida Electrical 8 04-27-2011 11:15 PM
Mechanical timer wiring? Duane 70 Electrical 5 06-16-2010 08:57 PM
help wiring a timer in a 3 gang light box edadmartin Electrical 3 03-14-2010 08:05 PM
Help with digital timer wiring longman Electrical 7 12-06-2008 11:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.