Wiring New Lights In Garage Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2011, 01:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


I have 2 single bulb lights in my garage. One on each side of the garage. They aren't bright so I bought new bulbs. The energy saving ones. Put them in and they both flicker when on. If I unscrew one bulb, the other bulb goes out too. I bought new lights. the 4 ft tube lights. With one wired up, it works fine. I hooked up the other one and they both flicker? Any ideas? Thanks

Advertisement

Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 02:22 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


Sounds like low voltage, Do you have a voltmeter?

Advertisement

Shockme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 02:27 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,339
Rewards Points: 3,472
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


The lights are miswired. They are wired in series. That is why your old bulbs weren't bright. The fact that you unscrew one and the other goes out is what prooves this. You need to fix the wiring or call an electrician to fix it and the lights will be fine.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 02:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


I followed the wires because my circuit board is in my garage and its just those 2 lights and the switch on that circuit. They are hooked up to a 15 amp breaker. Don't know if that matters. And no I don't have a voltmeter. I was thinkin about maybe grabbing a new electrical switch. It looks like the houses original so it could be 60 years old. Don't know if that matters either.
Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 02:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The lights are miswired. They are wired in series. That is why your old bulbs weren't bright. The fact that you unscrew one and the other goes out is what prooves this. You need to fix the wiring or call an electrician to fix it and the lights will be fine.

Would switching them from series easy enough to do? or definately electrician work?
Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 02:49 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


It may be an easy fix. Since you replaced the original fixture with florescent fixtures, you should be able to tell us what you see for wiring inside each ceiling box. A picture would be helpful too.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 03:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
It may be an easy fix. Since you replaced the original fixture with florescent fixtures, you should be able to tell us what you see for wiring inside each ceiling box. A picture would be helpful too.

There is just a black and white wire and the grounds are grounded to the metals boxes themselves in both boxes
Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 03:07 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


I tried a new switch....didn't do anything
Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 03:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


The way it seems to be wired is. From the electrical switch. One wire goes to one fixture and one goes to circuit board. The other fixture has one wire that goes to circuit board.

Is the 2nd fixture supposed to be tied into the electrical switch instead of circuit board?

Last edited by Tyus4; 02-10-2011 at 03:18 PM.
Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 06:55 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,339
Rewards Points: 3,472
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


What is the circuit board. A light fixture doesn't have a circuit board.
If there is only one cable in each fixture then those two cables need to meet up somewhere. Where? Usually it would be the switch. How are they connected to the switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 07:50 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


We need pics, this sounds weird if they actually are in series, 60 yrs old?
Shockme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 09:25 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
What is the circuit board. A light fixture doesn't have a circuit board.
If there is only one cable in each fixture then those two cables need to meet up somewhere. Where? Usually it would be the switch. How are they connected to the switch.

I didn't mean circuit board..i Meant breaker/ fuse panel
Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 09:50 PM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,339
Rewards Points: 3,472
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


Tell us how the lights and switch are wired.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 09:53 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


Ok I set up a ladder and traced the wires and was totally wrong. Electrical switch has one wire that goes to the fuse panel. The other goes to one fixture. Now the other fixture has one wire that runs to a junction box near the first fixture. This might be where the 2 are connected. But after that junction, the wires then run into another juction where one wire goes to a outside outlet, one goes to a outlet in the house, and one goes to a outside light. The electrical switch is a 3 way switch. I hope this helps
Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 10:05 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring new lights in garage Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Tell us how the lights and switch are wired.

the lights just have one black wire and one white wire and ground and the switch is a 3 way switch

Advertisement

Tyus4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Main-Breaker Box in Detached Garage wstribl Electrical 15 05-11-2013 06:15 PM
question about wiring basement with garage panel 1acman Electrical 4 01-19-2011 12:44 PM
wiring 100A to detached garage snowman Electrical 4 11-28-2009 05:53 PM
Basement wiring question kupalino Electrical 8 11-14-2009 10:25 AM
Garage Ventilation Question eagle09tbl HVAC 5 10-22-2009 10:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts