Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2011, 11:22 AM   #1
I'd Rather Be Fishin'
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


Hi,

I decided to attempt to install a new light switch into my bathroom since the old one would not stay on all the time and you would have to hold the switch up with force to make it stay on...so, I purchased a new light switch identical to the old one and installed the new switch exactly how I uninstalled the old switch. When I went to turn the main power back on to the house the outlets and light switch in the bedroom and bathroom would not come on and there is no power going to them. I located the GFCI that I believe is the circuit for my bedroom and bathroom but, when I try to reset the GFCI it wont reset? When removing the old light switch it seemed to be wired differently then what I have been reading online and it text on how to wire a switch. I will post pictures of how it was wired. Not sure what to do??

nlsnrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 11:41 AM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


Are there just two screws on both the old and new switch?
Did you remove any wire nuts?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 12:06 PM   #3
I'd Rather Be Fishin'
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


yes there are two screws on one side and one green screw on the other side. When I removed the old switch there was a black wiring going into a small hole on top and then a black wire with the insulation cut off in the middle and wrapped around the bottom screw and then a ground wiring wrapped around the ground screw. I have a picture attached to this message to show what I mean. No I did not remove any screws...
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems-outlet-wiring.jpg  

Last edited by nlsnrn; 08-31-2011 at 12:08 PM. Reason: Edit
nlsnrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 12:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by nlsnrn View Post
yes there are two screws on one side and one green screw on the other side. When I removed the old switch there was a black wiring going into a small hole on top and then a black wire with the insulation cut off in the middle and wrapped around the bottom screw and then a ground wiring wrapped around the ground screw. I have a picture attached to this message to show what I mean. No I did not remove any screws...
Not sure why there is a hot wire not connected to anything. Besides that, if what you describe is how it is connected, here's what I'd do:
- Cut that wire that the insulation is removed halfway in the middle of the bare copper part.
- Attach a pigtail (short wire) to those 2 wires (3 wires under wirenut)
- Terminate the pigtail on the switch.
- Terminate the other wire and ground on the switch.
- Cap off the other unused hot wire.
- Put everything back together and turn power on and test.
- Have a beer.
CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 01:34 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,526
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


How did you determine the lone wire is hot? It was probably inserted into a hole on back of the switch and came loose when you pulled it out. It is most likely the feed to the rest of the circuit (the part not working now). The wire that was wrapped around the screw should be the constant hot wire.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 01:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
How did you determine the lone wire is hot? It was probably inserted into a hole on back of the switch and came loose when you pulled it out. It is most likely the feed to the rest of the circuit (the part not working now). The wire that was wrapped around the screw should be the constant hot wire.
Yeah, good point. It probably came loose from the back. A good reason to never use the push in terminals. If this is the case, add that wire into where I said to cut your power wire (now 4 wires under the wire nut).
Let us know how it works out.
CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 02:33 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,889
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


Connect the bare wire to the green ground screw, connect the wire stripped in the middle to one of the switch terminal (either terminal), connect the other 2 black wires together with a pigtail and wire nut and connect to the other switch terminal.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 02:39 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Connect the bare wire to the green ground screw, connect the wire stripped in the middle to one of the switch terminal (either terminal), connect the other 2 black wires together with a pigtail and wire nut and connect to the other switch terminal.
The wire he indicated as not being used may be the through feed to the bedroom. You don't want that on the switched part of the switch. If it is the feed for the bedroom, you want it in with the constant hot.
CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 03:36 PM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,889
Default

Wiring a New Light Switch but Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapCharlie View Post
The wire he indicated as not being used may be the through feed to the bedroom. You don't want that on the switched part of the switch. If it is the feed for the bedroom, you want it in with the constant hot.
He said that that wire (the unattached one) was hot, I would think the other single black wire (the one he cut off the switch) is the downstream feed.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfci switch/outlet, light switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a single pole wall switch to a ceiling fan and light. How ? Larry Lambert Electrical 3 03-08-2011 03:52 PM
Light will now switch off Manjo62 Electrical 3 02-10-2011 11:59 AM
Wiring a Ceiling Fan to a Switch that also Controlls Hot Switch timsarah Electrical 6 03-30-2010 08:14 AM
Help wiring ceiling light wylde8 Electrical 1 09-24-2009 06:29 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.