Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2010, 04:19 PM   #1
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Share |
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


The builder just ran a 20A circuit to a receiptacle and left the wire in the box. The hot water tank has the junction box on top. So can i just get a wallplate cover for conduit and just run a conduit line up the wall to the junction box on the hot water tank?

thanks

ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 05:01 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,395
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


At least in the US most water heaters require a 240 volt 30 amp circuit. What does your WH call for on the nameplate?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 09:54 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


Gas or electric water heater? Total wattage rating if an electric unit?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2010, 03:33 PM   #4
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


Its a 3000 watt electric 240V @ 20 AMP rated.

How do i run conduit from an outlet to the junction box on top of the tank?

Last edited by ryanh; 07-03-2010 at 04:07 PM.
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 01:44 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


I am not sure what the Canada code will allow flexiable conduit from the waterheater junction box to the junction box on the wall but I know you mention " outlet " box is that a real receptale or just a hardwired set up ?

If you going to be hardwired set up you will need some fourm of disconnection switch if not in sight of the loadcentre { Canadaian electricians please confirm this part SVP. }

otherwise if the code are the same with NEC then I really advise you plan ahead to deal with the waterheater circuit like what in USA we have to use 6.0mm˛ { #10 AWG } in case someone will put in larger water heater or change to higher wattage element.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 12:46 PM   #6
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I am not sure what the Canada code will allow flexiable conduit from the waterheater junction box to the junction box on the wall but I know you mention " outlet " box is that a real receptale or just a hardwired set up ?

If you going to be hardwired set up you will need some fourm of disconnection switch if not in sight of the loadcentre { Canadaian electricians please confirm this part SVP. }

otherwise if the code are the same with NEC then I really advise you plan ahead to deal with the waterheater circuit like what in USA we have to use 6.0mm˛ { #10 AWG } in case someone will put in larger water heater or change to higher wattage element.

Merci,Marc
Thats a great point, 10awg should always be used more elements over 3500 watts..

So how does one wire for a electric water heater in new construction homes? Especially for water tank located in a drywalled room. I havent seen a electric water heater setup before , usually we use natural gas
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 11:13 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanh View Post
Thats a great point, 10awg should always be used more elements over 3500 watts..
Yeah I have see majorty of electric water heaters are wired much higher wattage typically 4500 watts but some case 5500 watters @240 volts { the 208 volts will be lower on wattage }

Quote:
So how does one wire for a electric water heater in new construction homes? Especially for water tank located in a drywalled room. I havent seen a electric water heater setup before , usually we use natural gas
For finished wall we will have a switch box or disconnect switch with flexibale conduit whipped out of the wall or use the 4X4 blank cover with 1/2 inch KO { Knockout opening } one of the two and if you are not in sight of the load centre you have to put a " local " disconnect switch per NEC code requirement but I do not know if the Canada do follow this part same way or not.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2010, 11:42 PM   #8
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


The service panel is in the same room as the water heater just on the opposite wall.

I wasn't sure if i could get a wall plate cover that had knock outs in it. I didn't see any at the stores.. I will have to keep looking. thanks for the help guys
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 08:08 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


All you need is a 7/8" hole saw to make your knockout opening in a blank plate. Connect your flex from the blank plate to the water heater.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 04:36 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


12/2 on the 20A circuit ia fine, no need for a disconnect.

Any wiring that is exposed and within 1.5M(roughly 5') of the floor needs to be mechanical protected. Since most HWT fall into this I would run a piece of 12/2 armoured cable up to your junction box and make joints.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 09:06 PM   #11
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Default

Wiring new hot water tank from outlet


Both elements don't run at the same time do they? 3000 watts upper and 3000 waters lower.. I'm not sure how an electric hot water tank works but im guessing both elements don't run at the same time?

ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Solar hot water + tankless gp_wa Plumbing 3 08-27-2008 12:48 PM
(Water Heater MYSTERY) Hot water out from dead tank with cold water in it? Inayity Plumbing 6 07-14-2008 08:36 PM
Wiring Sequence on Adding a New Outlet kennykenny Electrical 9 06-09-2008 02:06 PM
Ele hot water tank and welder sharing circuit wazeaz Electrical 68 03-19-2008 07:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.