Wiring In New Dishwasher - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2010, 09:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


I am wondering for the new power to the dishwasher can I tap off any outlet nearby?

And if I want to increase the size of the breaker (beacause the close outlet has a kettle and microwave on it, it will trip if I add the dishwasher) how do I know what size to incease it to? How do I know what would be safe emough for the outlet but also not trip when the dishwasher is on...

Thanks!

Advertisement

hellothere123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


The breaker you can use is determined by the wire size
#14g wire = 15a breaker
#12 wire = 15a or 20a breaker

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:37 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


Dishwashers typically have individual (dedicated) 20 amp circuits. Kitchens in the USA have very strict requirements for the branch circuits to receptacles. I suspect Canada to be similar. One of our members 'Joed' is a Canadian electrician. If you monitor this post a few days he should respond.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 11:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


Thankyou for both of your posts.

I have heard both ideas, one that you can just tie it in, and other that you have to have a dedicated line.

I'm thinking it might be a better idea to run a dedicated line, since that circuit is already tripping the breaker with what is on it.


Back to the existing plug that runs the microwave, kettle,toater, etc since it trips the breaker would you put in a bigger breaker or run another line to the outlet (since it looks like I'll be running a line already for the dishwasher)

I was reading online that kitchen outlets should be wired with 12 guage (since they need 20 amp breakers for dishwasher and microvave) and that the dishwasher should also be wired with 12 guage wiring. I cheked all of my wiring and I only have 14 guage throughout the entire house...



Maybe they mena that a regular plug in microwave can run on 14 guage and if you install an over the range microwave then you need the 12 guage???

http://ca.answers.yahoo.com/question...9184803AAgyUZB

Thanks again

Last edited by hellothere123; 09-12-2010 at 11:58 PM.
hellothere123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 11:32 AM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


Some very erroneous answers on that link..... One of the answers was ok.

Joed should be along if I bump this to the top of the list.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 03:59 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


No you can't pull the power from the counter plugs for your dishwasher. The counter plugs are for the counters only. Check the amperage on the dishwasher, they usually have a higher amp draw so I would recommend to run a sperate circuit for the dishwasher.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 04:08 PM   #7
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


have no idea if its legal or not, but either way its a bad idea. Run a dedicated 12/2 for a 20a circuit
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 06:16 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


You can get away with 14/2 and a 15A circuit, it will save you a little bit on the wire.

I just read that thread on yahoo and all I can say is wow. How can someone say to run #10 on a 30A breaker and then say to drop it down to #12. Everybody was saying no to that answer but you could very easly use 14/3 and run both.

Be very hesitant to follow any advice on yahoo answers. I used to answer questions on there but there is so many crappy and dangerous answers on there that get selected as best answer I had to stop. There were a few occasions I would give a correct answer and then someone came along and gave an obvious incorrect answer and I would get 3 or 4 thumbs down.

Last edited by darren; 09-13-2010 at 06:27 PM.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:05 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


Once again thanks...I'll run new lines and have a friend of mine who is an electrician terminate them in the panel since I have never opened up one before.
hellothere123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


Wow...I just read that Yahoo thread
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:17 PM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


Now you know the importance of the disclaimer on this site ....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:21 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring in new dishwasher


I reported one answer as "abuse"
If enough people report it they remove the answer

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dishwasher wiring question jimithing78 Electrical 6 05-11-2010 07:03 PM
New dishwasher wiring Holt Electrical 7 04-25-2010 02:48 AM
Wiring a dishwasher brettadam18us Electrical 2 03-20-2010 10:19 AM
Exposed dishwasher wiring secutanudu Electrical 15 04-20-2009 11:44 AM
Dishwasher Wiring mcpusc Electrical 1 04-28-2008 09:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts