Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2010, 09:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via ICQ to vivianjacobs@ne
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


I am installing a new dishwasher. The old dishwasher was hardwired, while the new one needs to be plugged in to an outlet. When I went to install the outlet from the original wires, I found that there are only a black and white wire, no ground. They also seem to be on a circuit by themselves, so are not protected by a gfci.

Is it ok to install the new dishwasher to an ungrounded outlet?

vivianjacobs@ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


Is it a 3 prong plug ?
Does the Mfg instructions require any specifics ?
DW is on a dedicated circuit, disposal allowed on same circuit
Where are you located ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:42 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,697
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


Your instructions will probably call for installation on a grounded circuit.

GFI protection not needed unless called for in instructions. Most will not.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via ICQ to vivianjacobs@ne
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


It is three prong. I don't see that the manufactuer specified any requirements as such. I was thinking of leaving it ungrounded and installing a gfci as the new outlet.

Thanks for your help!
vivianjacobs@ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:26 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but you may be able to pull a ground from an existing nearby receptacle. Since the wall behind the dishwasher will be hidden anyway, you could just cut whatever you need so you could fish a wire. If you're lucky there may be a receptacle nearby.

I would still fish a full romex but just cap the other two conductor ends. Again, not sure if this is actually permitted, just an idea. I know it's not permitted to do this with a neutral even though it works, not sure what the rules are with grounds, considering they don't carry current. (normally)
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


Ground must run back to the panel in the US
or grounding source - rod ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:44 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,697
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


Quote:
Originally Posted by vivianjacobs@ne View Post
It is three prong. I don't see that the manufactuer specified any requirements as such. I was thinking of leaving it ungrounded and installing a gfci as the new outlet.

Thanks for your help!
NEC 250.114(3) requires the use of a grounding conductor in the circuit supplying a dishwasher.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


GFCI outlet behind the DW not a good idea...reset would be a problem
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 06:22 AM   #9
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring for new dishwasher


How hard is it to run a new wire from the panel to the DW? That's the right way to do it.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dishwasher wiring, electrical


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dishwasher wiring question jimithing78 Electrical 6 05-11-2010 06:03 PM
Wiring a dishwasher brettadam18us Electrical 2 03-20-2010 09:19 AM
Wiring gone bad??? Dishwasher issue beginnerDIY Electrical 38 09-06-2009 07:30 AM
Exposed dishwasher wiring secutanudu Electrical 15 04-20-2009 10:44 AM
Dishwasher Wiring mcpusc Electrical 1 04-28-2008 08:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.