Wiring For New Bedrooms - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2008, 04:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


I'm having a new house built by a general contractor. The electrician proposes to put more than one bedroom on a 15-amp circuit for outlets. Light fixtures will not be on that circuit. Should I insist on no more that one bedroom per outlet circuit? In other words, what is the chance of exceeding 15 amps with the proliferation of electronic devices, maybe a box fan or a room air cleaner, and an iron or a vacuum cleaner, and maybe something I haven't though of?

Advertisement


Last edited by Sammy Weld; 10-19-2008 at 04:33 PM.
Sammy Weld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 04:21 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy Weld View Post
I'm having a new house built by a general contractor. The electrician proposes to put more than one bedroom on a 15-amp circuit for outlets. Light fixtures will not be on that circuit. Should I insist on no more that one bedroom per outlet circuit?

Only if your going to pay him. Its your money, pay for whatever you feel is quality.

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 04:33 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Sammy, why do you feel this is an improper installation? How many receptacles will be in each room?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 04:44 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


I will ask for 8 duplex outlets per bedroom, in an attempt to avoid the use of extension cords or cube taps. Note the second question I just added to my original post.
Sammy Weld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 04:45 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Only if your going to pay him. Its your money, pay for whatever you feel is quality.
Exactly!

Do you need a dedicated circuit for every bedroom?

Probably not.

If you want a dedicated circuit for every bedroom, that is certainly up to you. Tell the electrician that is what you would like and I'm sure he can accommodate you. It will cost more, but that's your decision.

If you are only using these circuits for general use purposes (TV, alarm clock, cell phone charger, an occasional vacuum cleaner) then one circuit for a couple rooms will be fine.

If you will have window AC units, multiple computers, space heaters, or other high amperage devices being used, then you may want individual circuits to each bedroom (or even multiple circuits to one large bedroom).

The bottom line is the electrician will probably be willing to do what ever you feel you need, as long as it is code compliant, and you are willing to pay for it.
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 04:48 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy Weld View Post
I will ask for 8 duplex outlets per bedroom, in an attempt to avoid the use of extension cords or cube taps. Note the second question I just added to my original post.

Believe it or not we actually have minimum codes. so you get what you pay for, bottom line. ( not trying to be rude )
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 05:46 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy Weld View Post
Should I insist on no more that one bedroom per outlet circuit? In other words, what is the chance of exceeding 15 amps with the proliferation of electronic devices, maybe a box fan or a room air cleaner, and an iron or a vacuum cleaner, and maybe something I haven't though of?
This is ALL stuff you should have gone over with the guy BEFORE he started wiring and before he gave you a price.

I can see many change-orders in your future.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 05:59 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
This is ALL stuff you should have gone over with the guy BEFORE he started wiring and before he gave you a price.

I can see many change-orders in your future.
Change order is code for $$$$
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:19 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Yes, EBFD6, you gave me good advice when you said I should work out how many bedroom circuits I want before I ask for a bid. Thatís exactly what I am doing. I was surprised when the electrician commented that he often puts more than one bedroom on a circuit. I had assumed those days were over in new construction. Maybe he normally works for speculators.
Sammy Weld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:23 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy Weld View Post
I was surprised when the electrician commented that he often puts more than one bedroom on a circuit. I had assumed those days were over in new construction. Maybe he normally works for speculators.
Why do you say this?
Why do you assume this is sub-standard work?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:09 AM   #11
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Sammy,

I'm with you on this one. If you can afford it comfortably then put each bed on a separate circuit. You never know what the next 50 years will bring in the way of loads.. might as well be thorough the first time.

I'm also with the other guys that there's nothing wrong with putting multiple bedrooms on one circuit. Most people will never get near 15A in a bedroom.. not even 5A.

I grew up in a house that had most of 3 bedrooms (lights and receptacles) and two bathrooms on the same 15A circuit. We only popped the circuit very occasionally.

I did get into computers and ended up needing to move all my gear out of my bedroom and into the basement b/c I was popping the circuit.. much to the irritation of other family members. So yeah, do separate circuits.

That's totally a 2c post.
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:22 AM   #12
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Receptacles by themselves are not a load, and it is unlikely that you would use them all at once anyway. As has been stated many times already, you can put each bedroom on a separate circuit. You can put each receptacle on it's own circuit if you can afford it. And while our overall consumption of electricity has increased, individual loads have gotten smaller over the years as efficiency has increased. Either way, I think you will be OK.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 09:08 AM   #13
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Receptacles by themselves are not a load, and it is unlikely that you would use them all at once anyway. As has been stated many times already, you can put each bedroom on a separate circuit. You can put each receptacle on it's own circuit if you can afford it. And while our overall consumption of electricity has increased, individual loads have gotten smaller over the years as efficiency has increased. Either way, I think you will be OK.
Agree- I built an addition with 4 bedrooms and placed 2 rooms of outlets on one 20a circuit with lighting seperate. 2-20a, 2-15a circuits. With 4 teenagers occupying those rooms, I never had a problem of tripped breakers. This included boom boxes, guitar amps, hair dryers, computers, TV.
You can have all the outlets you need for convenience. I placed mine every 6 feet of wall space with 4 feet from the door and never had a problem.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 10:18 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


These days of high energy costs, it can be more economical to run a space heater in the bedroom than heating the whole house at night. These draw a lot of power.

I would suggest a 20 amp circuit for each bedroom, then you could have a space heater in each bedroom plus whatever else.

Also in the summer a window air conditioner in the bedroom instead of cooling the whole house.

Basically you can do whatever you want. Even have two 20 amp circuits in each bedroom, one being a dedicated outlet for a space heater or A/C. This would be good for if you ever wanted a home office or whatever.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 03:43 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring for new bedrooms


For bedrooms in Canada (Manitoba) at least you need the duplex on Arc Fault circuit breaker usualy 15A and they are $80 a piece, so it'll add up fast if you want each room on different circuits. Not sure if you can put 20A in a bedroom here or not unless they have 20A Arc Fault circuit breakers??

Its better to spend the money now and put more in that you need. It;ll cost a LOT more money and time to fix this later. Do it right the first time or don't do it at all is what I always say.

Just my 2 cents

Advertisement

mfleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Electrical problem, bad wiring? mumblemouth Electrical 10 08-09-2008 12:52 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts