Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2013, 12:09 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Now I'm getting somewhere. What size wire and double post breaker do I need to feed the panel? I'm gonna install a 20amp or maybe 2 20 amp for the outlets and a 15amp for the lights.

Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 02:36 PM   #47
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


The breaker and wire size depend on how much capacity you want the panel to have.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:31 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyworker View Post
Yea I'm gonna go with the GFI brekaers and a sub panel and use my normal outlets that I got. This panel above will be like the one I'm gonna try to purchase. If I run #8 wire do I need to use a double 40 amp breaker at the meter pole? I will probably get a box that has at least 4 spots for later use. I wasnt aware you could get a box like this with no main breaker in the box thats where I was getting confused.
a gfci circuit breaker is significantly more expensive than a gfci receptacle (like, $65 vs $10). use a 'regular' breaker to serve a gfci receptacle and then serve the remaining receptacles from the load side of the gfci receptacle. the downstream receptacles can be the 'regular' receptacles you already have but they will now be gfci protected. same protection as the breaker but an extra $50 in your pocket.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
Handyworker (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 08:00 PM   #49
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
a gfci circuit breaker is significantly more expensive than a gfci receptacle (like, $65 vs $10). use a 'regular' breaker to serve a gfci receptacle and then serve the remaining receptacles from the load side of the gfci receptacle. the downstream receptacles can be the 'regular' receptacles you already have but they will now be gfci protected. same protection as the breaker but an extra $50 in your pocket.
Thanks for explaining that to me. I didn't know that.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 08:14 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Someone correct me if this is not what I will need please.
50' of 10-3 with ground.
30amp dual breaker at the pole then run the 10-3 from that to the sub panel. In the panel keep the grounds and neutrals on separate buss bar.
In the panel I will add a 20amp breaker with 12-2 wire to the GFI protected outlet then chain the remaining outlets to it.

For the lights is there a GFI protected switch? Can I run 14-2 with a 15amp breaker just for the lights?

Will a 100 amp panel work for this I know it wont be 100amp but all the smaller ones I looked at really didnt have much room or spots for breakers.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:01 AM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


the lights do not need gfci protection. a 100 amp panel will work just fine.

what's your plan for running the feeder from the pole to the shed? direct buried? conduit? what type of cable?
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
k_buz (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 09:39 AM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotrequired View Post
the lights do not need gfci protection. a 100 amp panel will work just fine.

what's your plan for running the feeder from the pole to the shed? direct buried? conduit? what type of cable?
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Southwire...9123/202316273

Thats what I plan to run from the pole to the sub panel in the shed. It says its direct bury wire. I found same on ebay for 50' which is what I need for $68.50 shipped to my door. Thanks for your help and info.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 02:48 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 446
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyworker View Post
Is 14/2 wire fine for the inside running to the lights and outlets? What wire for main breaker to my outside pole/meeter loop.

I have a house that has no power in the garage. I did not want to dig a trench becuse there is brick in the ground that serves as a patio. Can I just run up a pole? How high does it have to be? How is it done?
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 06:02 PM   #54
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Got my list together today and figured out my wire lengths.

1 Sub Panel still gotta figure out which one I want.
1 30AMP Dual Post Breaker
2 20AMP Single Breakers to spit up the outlets
1 15AMP Breaker for the Lights
5 single outlets and covers brown
1 double outlet and cover brown
1 brown switch and cover
1 double outlet box already mounted
1 light switch box already mounted
5 single outlet boxes already mounted

50' of 10-3 with ground
75' of 12-2 with ground
50' of 14-2 with ground

I think I got it all figured out and its not gonna be that bad or expensive as I thought. That 10-3 wire i'm getting is direct bury without conduit so how deep should it be buried?

Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 06:05 PM   #55
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyworker View Post
Got my list together today and figured out my wire lengths.

1 Sub Panel still gotta figure out which one I want.
1 30AMP Dual Post Breaker
2 20AMP Single Breakers to spit up the outlets
1 15AMP Breaker for the Lights
5 single outlets and covers brown
1 double outlet and cover brown
1 brown switch and cover
1 double outlet box already mounted
1 light switch box already mounted
5 single outlet boxes already mounted

50' of 10-3 with ground
75' of 12-2 with ground
50' of 14-2 with ground

I think I got it all figured out and its not gonna be that bad or expensive as I thought. That 10-3 wire i'm getting is direct bury without conduit so how deep should it be buried?


2 20 amp GFI outlets ...LOL
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 06:07 PM   #56
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
2 20 amp GFI outlets ...LOL
Yea it definitely wont be 2 20amp GFI breakers who could afford that.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 07:40 PM   #57
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,030
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


24 inches
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Handyworker (11-10-2013)
Old 11-11-2013, 09:46 AM   #58
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


24" is what code would require but if you are not bound to any code, i guess it could be shallower.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
Handyworker (11-11-2013)
Old 11-13-2013, 02:53 PM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed




This is what I'm doing in my shed. I'm installing 2 lights and a single pole switch. Just simple wiring. The problem I got is what do you do with the ground at the light? Its plastic boxes with ceramic light inlets. No place for a ground on ceramic fixture and of course its not gonna go to a plastic box.

Last edited by Handyworker; 11-13-2013 at 02:56 PM.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 03:26 PM   #60
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,030
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyworker View Post


This is what I'm doing in my shed. I'm installing 2 lights and a single pole switch. Just simple wiring. The problem I got is what do you do with the ground at the light? Its plastic boxes with ceramic light inlets. No place for a ground on ceramic fixture and of course its not gonna go to a plastic box.
Coil up the ground in the back of the box.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Handyworker (11-13-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a shed DavidKulzer Electrical 26 03-22-2013 01:06 AM
underground wiring to tool shed Dick Dube Electrical 13 08-03-2012 07:29 PM
Wiring to shed question Burbman Electrical 26 04-06-2012 10:05 PM
Out of room..Need a storage shed!!! Gomezy3k Building & Construction 6 12-19-2011 10:27 AM
Shed Wiring Duff. Electrical 28 06-09-2009 10:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.