Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2013, 11:00 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Share |
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


.http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?...llow&cId=PDIO1

Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:00 AM   #32
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 474
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyworker View Post
So this is in a non commercial 12x20 building out in the middle of nowhere 10 miles from civilization so I don't need the GFI correct?
Pugsy I tried to send you a pm but it wouldn't let me.

If no permits, you can do anything you like.

If I myself were to do something w/o pulling a permit, I would however make sure I did my research and build it to current codes.

As for PM's my settings allow any forum member to PM me. Perhaps the site has a minimum 25 post rule or something.
__________________
Pugsy

My project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/bunga...-build-169318/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:01 AM   #33
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


There is no debating it. You are required to install GFI protection for the 120V receptacles. It is for your protection.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:02 AM   #34
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by 123pugsy View Post
If no permits, you can do anything you like.

If I myself were to do something w/o pulling a permit, I would however make sure I did my research and build it to current codes.

As for PM's my settings allow any forum member to PM me. Perhaps the site has a minimum 25 post rule or something.
Why would you tell him that?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:06 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Ok the pm worked I had to have 15 post. I just need to know if its safe to just install the regular breakers and outlets. Thats the way every shop in 100 miles of here is done. I have never seen a GFI installed except for in my home or someone else home. No permit is required here I live 10 miles out in middle of nowhere and just need safe power in my shed. I dont want to get shocked or burn it down thats all. I dont care about any code.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:11 AM   #36
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyworker View Post
I dont care about any code.
That's what I figured. I suggest nobody else gives advice. Living in the middle of nowhere doesn't exempt you from current codes.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-09-2013), Jim Port (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 11:17 AM   #37
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 474
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Why would you tell him that?

I'll admit it's a bad call as I don't know the OP's capabilites.
One thing I can tell about the OP is that he will do it with or without our help.

Is it better to not guide him and in not doing so, he goes and does something dangerous? Tough call.
__________________
Pugsy

My project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/bunga...-build-169318/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:19 AM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
That's what I figured. I suggest nobody else gives advice. Living in the middle of nowhere doesn't exempt you from current codes.
I'm not spending the money on extra stuff unless its something that I have to do. No one will see this but me. But if I need to install the GFI on one end or the other I can do it.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:21 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Is it cheaper to by a 15 and 20 amp GFI breaker or the 8 outlets and light switch?
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:36 AM   #40
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


you should GFI the outlets ..

so 1 GFI could do all the outlets ... wire the outlets 12/2 with 1 20 amp GFI ..
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
Handyworker (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 11:51 AM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed




So this is a no no on the grounding on a sub panel? So do you just put the grounds coming out of the main cable with the grounds going to the outlets and lights? Instead of tying them to the bar with the neutral wires?
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:58 AM   #42
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,084
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Some places in the southern country there are no codes or inspectors. Just go out there and build anyway you want to. I am sure as time passes that will change. If I were to build myself a home and shop in an area like that I would want to build to code for my family's safety as well as the investment. If a person doesn't know how to build to code he may or may not get it right. IMHO it is best to know what code is so that person can make the decision to do it right or chance it. One thing is for sure, if it isn't to code and someone is injured or property is destroyed insurance won't pay, not to mention the guilt of hurting someone.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BigJim For This Useful Post:
Handyworker (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 12:03 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Yea I'm gonna go with the GFI brekaers and a sub panel and use my normal outlets that I got. This panel above will be like the one I'm gonna try to purchase. If I run #8 wire do I need to use a double 40 amp breaker at the meter pole? I will probably get a box that has at least 4 spots for later use. I wasnt aware you could get a box like this with no main breaker in the box thats where I was getting confused.
Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:05 PM   #44
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyworker View Post


So this is a no no on the grounding on a sub panel? So do you just put the grounds coming out of the main cable with the grounds going to the outlets and lights? Instead of tying them to the bar with the neutral wires?

on the right side of the panel ... you see the HOLES ??

they are to ADD a Ground bar .. you can buy them for about 10$ ..


then move the grounds to there ...leave the neutrals where they are ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
Handyworker (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 12:06 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Central Arkansas
Posts: 34
Default

Wiring a new 12x20 Storage Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
on the right side of the panel ... you see the HOLES ??

they are to ADD a Ground bar .. you can buy them for about 10$ ..


then move the grounds to there ...leave the neutrals where they are ...
Thanks for the info!!

Handyworker is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Handyworker For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (11-09-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a shed DavidKulzer Electrical 26 03-22-2013 01:06 AM
underground wiring to tool shed Dick Dube Electrical 13 08-03-2012 07:29 PM
Wiring to shed question Burbman Electrical 26 04-06-2012 10:05 PM
Out of room..Need a storage shed!!! Gomezy3k Building & Construction 6 12-19-2011 10:27 AM
Shed Wiring Duff. Electrical 28 06-09-2009 10:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.