Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2011, 06:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 342
Share |
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


Hello all!

Just want to verify the proper way to wire this 240V receptacle.

I am using EMT conduit and metal boxes run right to the panel so I assume the conduit & boxes will carry the ground?

Do I then only need to run the 2 hot wires through the conduit and use a pigtail to ground the receptacle to the box?

Just making sure I have this right. Thanks

Richo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 06:46 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


Properly installed metal conduit systems do not need an additional equipment grounding conductor. What you described is correct.

Many folks recommend that you install a supplemental equipment grounding conductor -- especially when the conduit system is installed in wood-frame and similar structures.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 07:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NY lower Hudson Valley
Posts: 210
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


I just finished running a 240V line in EMT. It was a volunteer job in a local church but a retired licensed electrician was running the job. We ran a separate ground wire. He said it was required because EMT only has a set screw. If the conduit was threaded pipe a separate ground wire would not be necessary.
zircon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 07:53 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


zircon, your retired electrician friend was incorrect. The setscrew is adequate for grounding means.

I prefer to install a separate equipment grounding conductor. I've seen too many times where conduit did come apart (although it was usually due to a forklift)
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:33 AM   #5
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


I am assuming that you don't need a neutral for this load. not if you're using a NEMA 6-15
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:55 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
zircon, your retired electrician friend was incorrect. The setscrew is adequate for grounding means.

I prefer to install a separate equipment grounding conductor. I've seen too many times where conduit did come apart (although it was usually due to a forklift)
I FULLY agree on both points.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 06:24 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy
I am assuming that you don't need a neutral for this load. not if you're using a NEMA 6-15
The original post stated 240v, so why assume?

Last edited by jlmran; 01-20-2011 at 06:53 AM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 10:48 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


Don't for get the ground jumper from the box to the receptacle. Even with metal conduit, this jumper wire is required.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 08:56 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 342
Default

Wiring NEMA 6-15 with EMT conduit


Thanks for all your input. Gives me the answer I needed

Richo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buried gas pipe in conduit WillK Plumbing 4 01-07-2011 12:50 PM
Wiring Lights and Running Multiple Circuits in Conduit mark_anderson_u Electrical 0 11-02-2010 09:06 AM
Basement wiring question kupalino Electrical 8 11-14-2009 09:25 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.