Wiring Needs For A Table Saw - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2010, 08:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


I have a 5 hp, 15.2 amp, 230 volt table saw. I wired it using 10 guage wire and 20 amp plug and 20 amp breaker. It only humms at the off on switch, what the %$** am I doing wrong?

Advertisement

fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:18 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


what voltage did you hook it up to?

is the breaker a 2-pole breaker?

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


no it is a single pole 20 amp breaker
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:21 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
no it is a single pole 20 amp breaker
theres your problem.

whoops, time out. just noticed you are Canadian.

hang on a minute. I have to do some looking but I think that is still the problem. Just want to be sure.


Yep, I think that's your problem.

Last edited by nap; 10-04-2010 at 09:24 PM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


I also have a jointer that is 10.5 amps and is 230 volts and I run it on a 15 amp single pole breaker and it works fine, so.....???
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


Just a little more info here: both are Steel city industrial tools. One is the steel city industrial 8" jointer 2 hp, 230 volts and it works fine. The other is a Steel City industrial table saw it has a 5 horse motor and needs 15.2 amps . Both are 230 volt and single phase motors.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:36 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


everything I find about your electrical system says it is basically the same as ours. That would mean a single pole breaker and a neutral is a 120 volt supply. A 2 pole breaker would provide a 240 volt supply.


what does the 20 amp recep look like? Did the machine come with a plug on it?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:39 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,900
Rewards Points: 2,154
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
I also have a jointer that is 10.5 amps and is 230 volts and I run it on a 15 amp single pole breaker and it works fine, so.....???
It is absolutely 100% certain that there is NO WAY you are running a 240v motor on a single pole breaker.

Something is not adding up here. Maybe it is a QO series panel where the two-pole breakers only have one handle?
Maybe a two-pole FPE or GE breaker installed wrong?
Wired wrong?

Given the amount of detail known we are all just guessing.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:49 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


Well you are all correct. I need to get double pull breakers for both the jointer and the table saw, my electrian just called and ran me through the whole thing. The jointer works but not up to its total speed because ( as the electrian puts it) some of the motors are wired in such a way that they will work but just not at full capacity. So I am off the the electrical store to get me some double pull breakers and a few other goodies. Thanks for setting me straight.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:50 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


guess I can take off my stupid hat now.....lol
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:08 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


Quote:
Originally Posted by fixrite View Post
guess I can take off my stupid hat now.....lol
not a big deal. If the thing ran when you hooked it up, of course you would figure that it was right and the new machine should also work if hooked up the same way.

as long as nothing got burned up, no harm, no foul.

get the right breakers and get back to woodworking.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:28 PM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,364
Rewards Points: 3,522
Blog Entries: 4
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


You want double POLE breakers not double pull. Make sure you get double pole and tandem or mini breakers. Those won't work for you.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 11:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You want double POLE breakers not double pull. Make sure you get double pole and tandem or mini breakers. Those won't work for you.
I think he meant to say {not} tandem or mini breakers
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 11:38 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


thanks all. I managed to pick up a double pole 20 amp breaker and the table saw purrrs like a kitten, unfortunately they were out of 15 amp double pole breakers but will pick one up very soon. Now back to the task of making sawdust. I managed to get my hands on 180 lineal feet of rough cut maple 3 x 8. First task is to make my table for the shop as I already have my vises on order. Woohooo. Thanks again for everything.
fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:27 AM   #15
Member
 
steveel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 287
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring needs for a table saw


Well, don't feel bad. I had the same stupid hat on the first big DIY electric job I did.

We had a large chicken coop. The open stud walls were lined with chickenwire on the inside, and straw was stuffed in the cavities for insulation. The chickens little door slid up and down in one wall cavity just by gravity (we called it the guillotine entrance). In the open position, the door was held up by a nifty electromagnet system the old farmer had invented. When the timer fired after sunset the magnet yanked some metal out from under the door and KAWHAM! Down slammed the door.


Well anyway.....

The thing had been out of operation when I joined the farm project, and I tried to "repair" some wiring, including a new cable for the chicken ranch. Only I wired it for 220v instead of 110v. The spark the magnet gave off blinded me, and caused a flash fire over the protruding bits of straw all along that wall.

And that was the beginnings of my ongoing lesson that its very important to know what you don't know!

So.... who is next in line to wear the electrical stupid hat?

Advertisement

steveel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Tressle table - how to build? Knucklez Carpentry 1 10-24-2009 04:18 PM
Wiring a table saw Cossack Electrical 4 07-20-2009 07:34 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 11:33 AM
Question about table saws,... tribaloverkill Tools 28 04-13-2007 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts