Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2011, 10:34 AM   #16
Curious Youngster
 
TssCman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Often, to get answers, you must give the answers to the questions asked of you. If you don't help people help you, it can be hard to get help.

For the most part. You won't gt answers if you are attempting anything that is in violation of code. So it does matter what your connecting.
Oookay, as said in many of my previous posts, I haven't bought any supplies, even including the lights (exit signs), so I'm not attempting to do anything. I don't know why people keep saying that, but I cam here to find a way to do everything safe and legal. Those were just ideas I had, and when people told me that it isn't safe, I told them what I would do with it exactly to see if it was still unsafe, then when they said it wasn't I though of a different , but safe way to do that project.

I'm pretty sure that I have been answering all of the questions that you guys have asked me about my project. So this is kind of random.

TssCman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 11:47 AM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


You haven't looked at that hole closer to see if it has an armored cable or not. And then told us if it is or not. So no one can answer your question on the thinner wires.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 01:52 PM   #18
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Well - you don't know what those wires were used for at all, it seems - so don't waste time trying to figure out what *they* did and why - just do what you need to do.

If you're installing a light fixture then install a proper box for it - it's not complicated. Buy the box - locate a joist - cut an opening - insert the box - run the correct wires for your purpose - patch the sheetrock. Done. If this means relocating their existing opening then that's what it means. If it means buying some wire that matches the wire that's in the home then that's what it means.

Don't worry about what they did - I've seen some crazy stuff in this house. Sometimes you just don't WANT to know what they did
__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 04:31 PM   #19
Curious Youngster
 
TssCman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
You haven't looked at that hole closer to see if it has an armored cable or not. And then told us if it is or not. So no one can answer your question on the thinner wires.
I did look close at it, I said it is hard for me to tell, the person who installed this may have cut off that part of the armor when sending the wires through, or there may be no armor, all I know is that all I see is three wires going through a hole, and nothing else.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snav View Post
Well - you don't know what those wires were used for at all, it seems - so don't waste time trying to figure out what *they* did and why - just do what you need to do.

If you're installing a light fixture then install a proper box for it - it's not complicated. Buy the box - locate a joist - cut an opening - insert the box - run the correct wires for your purpose - patch the sheetrock. Done. If this means relocating their existing opening then that's what it means. If it means buying some wire that matches the wire that's in the home then that's what it means.

Don't worry about what they did - I've seen some crazy stuff in this house. Sometimes you just don't WANT to know what they did
I already know how to install the electrical box (even though I'm going to mount my electrical box surface mounted). I was just needing to figure out what the thin wire was for. Also, I don't want to go into the attic, or such, that's why I'm doing everything surface mounted, plus this will be a temporary setup.

Last edited by TssCman123; 09-10-2011 at 07:21 PM.
TssCman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 05:47 PM   #20
Curious Youngster
 
TssCman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Guys, my threads aren't really getting anywhere anymore due to safety concerns.

  1. I haven't bought any supplies; I came here to plan for a safe and legal way to wire everything.
  2. I will be purchasing the book "Wiring Simplified" that is based off of the NEC before doing any wiring or mounting.
  3. If I sound like a stupid moron, just for the record, I'm 15 years old. (For those of you who say I'm to young to do this type of stuff, I've installed a successful fire alarm system before, plus it doesn't always matter by age, it matters by your electrical knowledge that applies to the project, and your ability; ex: there are probably people older than you who couldn't do what you are doing, and there are probably people younger than you who can do what you are doing, but better).
TssCman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 05:52 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Quote:
I'm 15 years old.
Ahhh.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 06:12 PM   #22
Curious Youngster
 
TssCman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Ahhh.
Yea, I bet half of the posters in my threads thought I was a stupid adult.

I have learned that the thin wire is a bare ground wire, if you notice, the ground wire is smaller than the hot and neutral wires, is this safe? Since the ground wire is bare, this probably means that the wires are Romex cable, although I still don't know for sure, because the cloth or paper jacket stuff is probably cut off right before the wires go through the hole in the ceiling. Also, there is dried paint (the kind that feels like paper), and drywall dust on the ground wire, is this safe to use?

Last edited by TssCman123; 09-10-2011 at 06:15 PM.
TssCman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 06:14 PM   #23
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Like you would told on the other board the ground needs to be cleaned off.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:08 PM   #24
Curious Youngster
 
TssCman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Like you would told on the other board the ground needs to be cleaned off.
Thanks, nice Googling. Sometimes I started posting my questions on two different boards earlier, so I can get be extra safe and because I trust a licensed electrician (like you) a little more than a random poster.
__________________
"Every EXIT Is An Entrance Somewhere Else"
Posted from a Lenovo ThinkPad Edge 15.
TssCman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:53 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,502
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by TssCman123 View Post
  1. If I wire two or more exit signs/emergency lights in parallel to those wires sticking out of the ceiling, would I have to use a resistor or anything in part of that circuit?
  2. what is the thin wire in the images are for?
  3. is it safe or unsafe to wire an exit sign/emergency light to the wires that an outlet would be connected to?
1 - if they are designed for mains operation,
Then no resistor is required.
just wire them in parrallel.

2 - With out testing cant say for sure,
my guess would be,
either it is an earth wire,
or it could be part of a switch loop.

May be clean up the wires,
knowing the color would make it easier
to identify the wires.

3 - I would recommend wiring any light,
to only a light circuit.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:28 PM   #26
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


At one point in time, an undersized ground was considered perfectly acceptable. Current code does not allow for new installations to use an undersized ground on basic household 15/20A circuits (that I'm aware of).
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:30 PM   #27
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


I am wondering if the lack of insulation is confusing the OP.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:32 PM   #28
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Perhaps, though it appears insulated to me. I suppose it could be paint on it or something...

Last edited by Thadius856; 09-11-2011 at 10:17 AM. Reason: Typo
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:47 PM   #29
Curious Youngster
 
TssCman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


What foes this mean "if they are designed for mains operation"?

I wasn't able to scrape much paint off, but I will do the rest on the day that I install everything. When I was scraping some of the paint off, the wires came out about a centimetr more, there is still no sign of the wires being Romex or armored. It probably is one of those though, since it is not being ran through any kind of conduit, that I know of, I also expanded the size of the hole by a tad bit. It looks like the smaller wire is a bare ground wire, and the others are the hot and neutral wires, an image is below.

When you say switch loop, do you mean if there was more than one switch connected to the light? If so, there is only one switch in that room, and, obviously the wire would probably be red, so I guess we can count the switched loop possibility out.

Does anyone know how to wire an exit sign or two in a manner in which can be plugged into the wall, but cannot be dangerous to my dogs (ex: conduit is fine, flexible cable is not). I have ran out of ideas, and my others were unsafe and illegal.

__________________
"Every EXIT Is An Entrance Somewhere Else"
Posted from a Lenovo ThinkPad Edge 15.
TssCman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:48 PM   #30
Curious Youngster
 
TssCman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring Lights To A Plug


Wow, there were three posts in the time it took me to post that one post above.

Being a new DIYer, and 15, even I know that painting over wires isn't the best idea, but for some reason the previous occupant in my house decided to do that.

Let me throw one at you guys again...could I get a plug body, connect SO cable to it, run it surface mounted on the wall (not through conduit) to an electrical box, then in the electrical box, connect THHN wire to the SO cable, and run the THHN wire to the exit sign? (This room doesn't have dogs.)

__________________
"Every EXIT Is An Entrance Somewhere Else"
Posted from a Lenovo ThinkPad Edge 15.

Last edited by TssCman123; 09-10-2011 at 09:38 PM. Reason: Erased Duplicate Post
TssCman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help wiring exhaust fan w 2 lights AND a separate shower light into a 4 switch Taran7 Electrical 2 09-18-2014 06:07 PM
Wiring 2 Bathroom lights ashtray11 Electrical 2 07-16-2011 09:02 AM
Wiring 4 lights to 1 switch...Please help! Driven2race Electrical 14 01-17-2010 06:03 PM
Recessed lights, wiring, breaker buzzing, etc diyguy999 Electrical 3 12-21-2009 01:10 PM
wiring up two lights to one power supply divy Electrical 6 02-11-2008 05:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.