Wiring For Light Switch Timer - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2009, 12:14 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Wiring for Light Switch Timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by kimbalee View Post
I have attempted to install an Aube TI070 timer light switch. The switch has 2 black wires (load and line), 1 yellow, and 1 green. My switch box has 3 black wires, and 3 white wires. I have the green wire attached to a ground screw in the box, but Iím confused about the rest. The instructions don't show as many wires as I have. Please help!

I have the power to the switch working (the screen comes on), but the light will not turn on and off.

Thanks,
Kim
I, too, have Aube timers in every room of my house (including the staircase).
Can't read the cat. # off the switches. But for a replacement of a single-pole switch, both the installation and (7-day or seven-program) programming are a breeze! The timer has Three wires. 1) Black; 2) Blue (or Red); 3) White: Black goes to Feed. White to Neutral: Blue to Light.
Programming is easy, too. No details are necessary. Except to be aware that after each setting (even on or off) the DAY jumps back to MONDAY (default). (eliminate confusion)Through Education! Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!

Advertisement

spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 08:11 AM   #17
Newbie
 
kimbalee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for Light Switch Timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Does the little LED indicator in the lower right corner of the time light up when the load should be "on"? Did you check that the black wires coming off the timer switch were connected properly as in the diagram? Using the black wire off the bottom to power in, and the black wire above it to the power out.

It is very possible you may have a bad timer switch. Try the configuration with both the yellow lead disconnected, and the yellow and black leads off the bottom of the switch to the power in; see if it makes a difference or not (it shouldn't).
The LED light does turn on and off when the button is pressed. I did try swaping the black wires from the switch. I am fairly sure they are wired the way the diagram shows. I also tried with the yellow wire. Still nothing.
kimbalee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 08:15 AM   #18
Newbie
 
kimbalee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for Light Switch Timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Connect the yellow wire in with the black wire which is your feed. Try it again after doing this. It won't work without the yellow wire connected.
Still not working. The very first time I attempted to install the switch I tripped a breaker. Could that have damaged the on/off feature in my switch?

One of the single-switch diagrams shows use of a white wire from the wall to a black wire on my switch. Would use of a white wire help me at all?

Last edited by kimbalee; 10-05-2009 at 08:21 AM.
kimbalee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 02:09 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Wiring for Light Switch Timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by kimbalee View Post
Still not working. The very first time I attempted to install the switch I tripped a breaker. Could that have damaged the on/off feature in my switch?

One of the single-switch diagrams shows use of a white wire from the wall to a black wire on my switch. Would use of a white wire help me at all?
Auyh! Go get a new switch! If you tripped the breaker the first time with this switch hooked up, youv'e more than likely fried some circuitry inside it. In this situation, you will NOT use the white wires in the wall at all; that would only be if you have a switch loop setup where you only have 1 white and 1 black wire in the box (this is not the case for you).

Replace the switch, black and yellow from the bottom of the switch to the incoming power, and the black on the top to the load. Report back with the results.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 08:54 PM   #20
Newbie
 
kimbalee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB Canada
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Talking

Wiring for Light Switch Timer


I bought a new switch, and it works! Thanks so so much for all your trouble.... when the whole time I had ruined the original switch! I learned a lot though... and won't make that mistake again.

I have a new problem, the switch box is quite deep, and there doesn't seem to be enough room in the electrical box to store the wires and the switch box. Is there a simple solution?

Thanks again!
Kim
kimbalee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 09:43 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Wiring for Light Switch Timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by kimbalee View Post
I bought a new switch, and it works! Thanks so so much for all your trouble.... when the whole time I had ruined the original switch! I learned a lot though... and won't make that mistake again.

I have a new problem, the switch box is quite deep, and there doesn't seem to be enough room in the electrical box to store the wires and the switch box. Is there a simple solution?

Thanks again!
Kim
I think it says so in the insert. That if you short the wires while installing the switch, it will be ruined. On your second dilemma. From my own experience with installing the Aube programmable timers. (Installed quite a few in the past Four Years). If you push the wires back (like brain surgery, not like a bulldozer) in a standard (2 1/2" deep) box there shouldn't be a problem! (No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!

Advertisement


Last edited by spark plug; 10-07-2009 at 09:46 PM. Reason: Typographical error (Typo)
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 09:00 PM
4 way switch wiring ponch37300 Electrical 9 02-16-2009 10:58 AM
3-Way Switch Wiring MrBill_DIY Electrical 8 09-07-2008 06:53 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts