Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2004, 03:27 PM   #1
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

wiring a light


I am wiring a light in my basement, and I need some help. I have a black(hot) coming into my switch and I have a two wire going into my light. I would also like a plug below my light switch. How can I obtain this?

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 12:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wiring a light


On the line side of the switch splice another 14gauge or 12gauge wire from there to the outlet. At the switch you will connect the white with the other whites already there - same with the ground.
Your switch will only have a black in and a black out to the light.. all neutral (white) will be wire nutted together including the outlet neutral. The hot for the outlet will need to be on the line side or before the switch's incoming power.
Make sure that there are not too many outlets or lights on one circuit. I'm not sure what the max outlets and lights are for a single circuit - someone else will have to answer that. Also - by wire I mean 3 wire romex - black neutral and ground.

hatchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 12:46 PM   #3
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wiring a light


I believe the max on a single circuit is eleven.

Thats in any combination of outlets and lights.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 04:20 PM   #4
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wiring a light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered
I believe the max on a single circuit is eleven.

Thats in any combination of outlets and lights.


NO MAXIMUM IN A RESIDENCE.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2004, 01:10 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lancaster, ca.
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a light


do the simple math: 180va (or 1.5 amps) per general use receptacle gives a limit of 10 receptacles per 15 amp circuit or 13 receptacles per 20 amp circuit. My question is, “Does the 80 % limit come into play?” In other words, must I take 80 % of a 20 amp circuit (i.e., 16 amps), divide that by 1.5 amps per receptacle, and conclude that I can install no more than 10 receptacles on a 20 amp branch circuit? per the (nec code). About the lights iam not sure about....good luck

Last edited by tonyh; 12-31-2004 at 01:12 AM.
tonyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2005, 10:53 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clifton, New Jersey
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wiring a light


Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchet
Make sure that there are not too many outlets or lights on one circuit. I'm not sure what the max outlets and lights are for a single circuit - someone else will have to answer that.

In general most circuits have between 10-12 outlets in it. You can basically figure out what you will need plus a few extra in a circuit. Figure out what you might or may need to have plugged in running at one time. By figuring out the wattage per item and add it together you can take that and divide by the voltage used(usually 120v unless you're using specialtly deviceswhich would be 220v-240v)and that will give you the amps running on that circuit which will be needed. Whether it will be 15 or 20 amps. If you're running close to the 15 amp mark then i would just bump it up to 20 and if you're running close to the 20 amp mark I might just break it down to two different circuits instead of running larger wire. Which ever is easier.

Just make sure you're using the right sized wire for the circuit
(15 amp -14 guage;20 amp 12-guage)

For lights just figure out how many lights you plan on needing and what wattage bulbs you will be needing as well. Divide the total by the wattage and that will give you amps. Just I don't usually put more then 8 lights depending on the wattages of the bulbs anticipated for further use. That's if the lights are on their own circuit.
Hammertime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 10:19 PM   #7
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring a light


The new 2005 NEC is out and I was reading it while down with the flu. There have been some changes for receptacles. Look here http://www.ecmweb.com/

Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bathroom light bar wiring kenny11876 Electrical 6 03-05-2007 07:25 PM
Central Vac wiring...how do I get a light to go on? wease Electrical 4 02-22-2007 08:27 AM
light fixture wiring jasjks Electrical 4 11-29-2006 03:51 PM
Wiring a light with switch....please help!! lindo1951 Electrical 19 10-16-2006 03:32 PM
wiring a new light ugmr10 Electrical 2 12-30-2003 11:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.