Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 09:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


I am wanting to wire a receptical to use my generator to power my house during a power outage. my question is can i splice a L14-30 to my existing dryer cord to hook up my generator to feed power to my house considering that i won't have the dryer on and the generator plugged in at the same time? If it is possible to do this what will i need to look for to make sure i have to correct wiring and breakers?

mbax is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 09:31 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


This is a BIG no-no. That is your answer.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
micromind (10-28-2012)
Old 10-28-2012, 10:53 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,591
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
This is a BIG no-no. That is your answer.
Agree.

The only legal (and safe) way to power any panel that's connected to a utility is by making it physically impossible to have both the gen and utility connected at the same time.

Also, you'd need a 'suicide cord'. This is one that has a male plug on both ends.

It's called a 'suicide cord' for a reason......

Rob
micromind is online now  
Old 10-28-2012, 11:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,236
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


Micheal Jackson was"musically" cool.
bobelectric is offline  
Old 10-29-2012, 06:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 155
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


safest (quick) way to get power into the house is to run several heavy guage extension cords through a window or doorway. the biggest safety risk will be tripping. keep the generator away from the window or door to avoid another safety risk, CO (carbon monoxide) gas.

How large of a generator do you have? a 3k will power refrigorator, sump pump and a few lights!!! extended outages require a lot of fuel.

stay safe

bernie
bernie963 is offline  
Old 10-29-2012, 10:19 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


You need a generator inlet and a interlock for your panel to be able to safely back feed the house.
J. V. is offline  
Old 10-29-2012, 11:03 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


I don't think you guys understand what I am wanting to do. I don't want to make a suicide cord to plug into my current dryer outlet. I want to add a recepticle to the wire from the panel to the dryer. During an outage plug my generator into the recepticle, not the dryer outlet, and backfeed to my panel. I understand this will not be considered "legal"
mbax is offline  
Old 10-29-2012, 11:18 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,879
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


Quote:
Originally Posted by mbax View Post
I understand this will not be considered "legal"
THEN DON'T DO IT! Kill a lineman, go to prison.
md2lgyk is offline  
Old 10-29-2012, 11:19 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


You can not legally do this. Either way, you can end up with exposed hot prongs on that cord/circuit.

There would be no difference whether you plugged a hot cord into the dryer outlet, or another twist-lock receptacle below it.

The proper method is to install a separate feed using a flanged inlet (not an outlet), with its own back-fed breaker and mechanical interlock kit, or transfer switch.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline  
Old 10-29-2012, 11:21 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,797
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


Quote:
Originally Posted by mbax View Post
I understand this will not be considered "legal"
Not only is it not legal it is stupid and NOT safe.

IMO threads like this should not be replied to since the OP is only going to want specific answers.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (10-29-2012)
Old 10-29-2012, 11:25 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


Quote:
Originally Posted by mbax View Post
I don't think you guys understand what I am wanting to do. I don't want to make a suicide cord to plug into my current dryer outlet. I want to add a recepticle to the wire from the panel to the dryer. During an outage plug my generator into the recepticle, not the dryer outlet, and backfeed to my panel. I understand this will not be considered "legal"
That is correct, it is not legal.
beenthere is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
electures (10-29-2012), micromind (10-29-2012)
Old 10-29-2012, 11:27 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

wiring a L14-30 receptical


Unsafe acts are not supported by this site. if you wish to find out how to do this properly, ok. But a thread on how to do it unsafely or illegally is not permitted.

This thread has been closed do to the hazardous method that is being asked about.

beenthere is offline  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
BigJim (10-29-2012), brric (10-29-2012), electures (10-29-2012), micromind (10-29-2012)
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Old wiring to new wiring Acworld34 Electrical 3 07-11-2011 10:00 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.